Sargent files for Point Pleasant Mayor as independent

Beth Sergent - [email protected]

C. Keith Sargent

C. Keith Sargent

POINT PLEASANT — The race for mayor in the City of Point Pleasant has gotten a little more crowded with a third candidate throwing their name into the hat for voters to consider.

C. Keith Sargent, Point Pleasant city councilman for the fourth ward, has filed to run for mayor as an independent. Sargent filed his paperwork with the city clerk’s office prior to the deadline, turning in a petition with 37 signatures of registered voters – he was required to turn in 25. The number of signatures Sargent was required to obtain was based upon how many residents voted in the last municipal election.

Sargent said he decided not to run for re-election in terms of his council seat. As for why he decided to run for mayor, he said, he wasn’t upset with any particular person but, rather, the “system” as he called it.

Sargent, who ran on the GOP ticket when he won the council seat in 2012, will go up against GOP Incumbent Mayor Brian Billings and Democratic challenger Jeremy Bryant.

The city’s municipal election is May 10, the same day as the West Virginia Primary. In addition to mayor, voters in the City of Point Pleasant will be electing a city clerk, two council-at-large representatives and council persons from each of the eight wards. In all, with the addition of Sargent, there are 25 candidates running in the election.

Both the Democrats and Republicans held their respective conventions last week. Here are how those tickets break down:

Democrats: Mayor: Jeremy Bryant. City Clerk: Jimmie Wood Jr. Council-at-large: Brandy Barkey Sweeney and Marty Reed. First Ward: Kathy Gardner. Second Ward: Jerrie Howard. Third Ward: Gabe Roush. Fourth ward: Brandon Sweeney. Fifth Ward: Lauren Caldwell-Billiter. Sixth Ward: Cody Lambert. Seventh Ward: Brad Deal. Eighth Ward: Ashley Wood.

Republicans: Mayor: Brian Billings. City Clerk: Amber Tatterson. Council-at-large: Janet Hartley and Charles Towner. First Ward: Incumbent Elizabeth Jones. Second Ward: Robert McMillan. Third Ward: Mary Jane Getty. Fourth Ward: Leigh Ann Shepard. Fifth Ward: Incumbent Elaine Hunt. Sixth Ward: Olivia Burdette Warner. Seventh Ward: Courtney Hall. Eighth Ward: Incumbent Rick Simpkins.

More on all the candidates in upcoming editions of the Point Pleasant Register.

C. Keith Sargent Keith Sargent

Beth Sergent

[email protected]

Reach Beth Sergent at [email protected] or on Twitter @BSergentWrites.

Reach Beth Sergent at [email protected] or on Twitter @BSergentWrites.