Tri-County Junior Golf League concludes season

POMEROY, Ohio — Thirty-eight young men and ladies participated on Monday morning at the Meigs County Golf Course in the season finale for the 2016 Frank Capehart Tri-County Junior Golf League.

And, it was an exciting end to the five tournaments played this season.

The format was entirely different than the previous four events, as Monday was considered a “Fun Day”.

Handicaps were figured for all of the players — with a net score determining the order in which prizes were selected.

Many golf-related prizes were distributed, including golf balls, tees, ball markers, Sharpie pens, golf gloves, caps, golf towels, junior drivers, ball-mark repair tools and numerous other items.

The age group of the player was not entered into the final standings — and it did not matter if you were a boy or a girl.

It was everyone for themselves, and the top-10 net scores for the day included eight boys and two girls.

Carl Sayre, a player in the 15-to-17-year-old age group, ended up with the best net score of the day.

Sayre’s net score for the day was a 27, and it certainly helped that he shot his best score of the year with a 44.

His 17-handicap won the formatted tournament by three strokes.

Grant Roush used his good score of 40 — minus a 10-handicap to finish in second-place — with a net 30.

The next eight finishers with their net scores were Caleb Pierson (31), Curtis Haner (33), Connor Ingels (34), Ryan Harbour (34), Mary Roush (34), Noah Leachman (35), Haley Pierson ( 35) and Brayden Ervin (35).

The second 10 finishers were Sarah Bunce (35), Bobby Musser (35), Mattie Ohlinger ( 35), Brayden Williamson (35), Josh Davis (36), Jensen Anderson (36), Jarret Hupp (36), Kaitlyn Hawk (36), Caroline Roush (36) and Dylan Tayengco (37).

It should be noted that Tayengco shot the day’s best gross score with a 38.

Levi Chapman’s gross score of 40 — minus his 3-handicap — gave him a final score of 37.

Taylor Boggs played well as well, shooting a gross score of 43.

Her 6-handicap gave her a net score of 37.

The remaining golfers with their final net score are as follows: Gage Smith (37), Katelyn Edwards (37), Wyatt Nicholson (38), Aaron Burke (38), Sam Arnold (38), Theo McElroy (38), Ethan Roberts (38), Brice Swatzel (39), Joe Milhoan (40), Casey Greer (40), Brennen Sang (41), Taylor Bartrum (41), Jay Sayre (42), Andrea Mahr (42), Bryce Tayengco (43) and Tessa Coates (44).

Prior to awarding prizes to the handicap winners, plaques were awarded to the individual age-group champions.

Joe Milhoan and Ali Norris were the winners in the 10-and-under age group.

The winners in the 11-and-12 year-old age group were Connor Ingels and Tessa Coates, while Colby Martin and Caroline Roush won the awards for the 13-and-14 year-old group.

The 15-and-17 year-old group was won by Levi Chapman and Haley Pierson.

Hot dogs, chips and soft drinks were provided for lunch to all of the golfers.

Parents, grandparents and friends of the golfers supplied various desserts including cakes, cookies and even a watermelon.

Each of the league sponsors were acknowledged, including Home National Bank, Peoples Bank, City National Bank, Ohio Valley Bank, John Sang Ford, Smith Chevrolet, Ty Sommerville, John Krawsrzyn/Celia McCoy and Reva Bounce.

Without these sponsors, the league would not be possible — and the directors of the league expressed their sincere appreciation to each of them.

Parents and other volunteers were also thanked for their efforts in each week’s activities.

Their cooperation goes a long way in making the league such a success.

Of course, none of this would be possible without the help and generosity of each of the four local golf courses.

The gift of their time and facilities allow and encourage these young men and women to participate.

Because of all of this cooperation, many young people are learning the game — a game they can enjoy for a lifetime.

The directors of the league — Jan Haddox, Jeff Sloan and Bob Blessing — are looking forward to continuing this league for many years to come.