OHSAA awards $36,000 in college scholarships

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio High School Athletic Association will hand out $36,000 in college scholarships to recent high school graduates following selections made by each of the OHSAA’s six District Athletic Boards.

The OHSAA’s annual college scholarship program is now in its 24th year.

Each of the 36 honorees will receive $1,000 awards, including six (one from each district) who will receive an OHSAA Ethnic Minority Scholarship.

The point system used in each district is described below.

Nike and Molten have also contributed to the OHSAA scholarship program.

“These 36 young people are to be commended for being excellent students, while also achieving numerous honors in athletics,” said OHSAA Interim Commissioner Dave Gray. “They are leaders in their schools and communities and truly represent what it means to be a student-athlete. Their futures are very bright and their families, teachers and coaches are to be proud for the roles they have had in helping guide them to great high school careers and now on to college. The OHSAA is very proud to be associated with each of them.”

Scholar-athlete recipients are selected based on a point system which rewards students for grade point averages; class rank; ACT or SAT scores; varsity letters earned; and individual and team athletic honors.

The number of scholarship recipients from each district are based upon the number of schools within the district.

The recipients were selected by special committees within each of the OHSAA’s six athletic districts.

Individuals who receive athletic scholarships from NCAA Division I or II institutions or appointees to military academies are not eligible for an award.

2016 OHSAA Scholar-Athlete Scholarship Recipients

Southeast District (4)

Andrew Wolford, Valley – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Wesley Stephens, Chesapeake – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Taylor Perry, Fairland – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Sue-Yeon Ryu, Athens – OHSAA Ethnic Minority Scholar-Athlete

Northwest District (7)

Riley Nagel, Defiance Tinora – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Alicia Hernandez, Archbold – OHSAA Ethnic Minority Scholar-Athlete

Cameron Conaway, Greenwich South Central – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Kyle Homan, Maria Stein Marion Local – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Jackson Hemmelgarn, Coldwater – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Alec Rhodes, Findlay Liberty-Benton – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Emily Mescher, Maria Stein Marion Local – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Central District (4)

Aaron Wood, Lancaster Fisher Catholic – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Isabella Pesavento, Columbus School for Girls – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Danielle Evans, Newark Catholic – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Tyndale Hannan, Dublin Coffman – OHSAA Ethnic Minority Scholar-Athlete

East District (4)

Dallas Foster, Sugarcreek Garaway – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Olivia Warther, Dover – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Conner Roahrig, Coshocton – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Daniel Trouten, St. Clairsville – OHSAA Ethnic Minority Scholar-Athlete

Southwest District (7)

Kristin Langston, Versailles – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Samantha Rowland, Tipp City Tippecanoe – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Sean O’Brien, Cincinnati Country Day– OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Benjamin Greenwell, Milford – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Brooke Lezotte, Waynesville– OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Gary Zhao, Mason – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Tigar Cyr, Cincinnati Seven Hills – OHSAA Ethnic Minority Scholar-Athlete

Northeast District (10)

Edward Conger, Euclid – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

James Norris, Cleveland St. Ignatius – OHSAA Ethnic Minority Scholar-Athlete

Vanessa Pasadyn, Brunswick – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Thomas Sullivan, Cleveland St. Ignatius – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Daniel Branch, Richfield Revere – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

John Colangelo, Canton Central Catholic – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Jacob Ondash, Mantua Crestwood– OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Bradley Hauptman, Kirtland – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Rachel Reolfi, Canton Central Catholic – OHSAA Scholar-Athlete

Austin VanSickle, Loudonville – OHSAA Scholar- Athlete