Campos leads Rio quartet on All-RSC women’s soccer team

By Randy Payton - For Ohio Valley Publishing

MIDDLETOWN, Ohio — University of Rio Grande freshman midfielder Lorna Campos earned Newcomer of the Year honors and was one of four RedStorm players named to the 2020-21 All-River States Conference Women’s Soccer Team.

The teams and individual award winners, which were determined through voting by the league’s 11 head coaches, were announced by conference officials on Saturday.

The First & Second Teams consist of 14 players each — four forwards, four midfielders, four defenders and two goalkeepers.

Campos, who hails from Santiago, Chile, helped Rio Grande earn a piece of the league’s regular season championship. She started all 12 games for head coach Tony Daniels’ club, tallying five goals, five assists and 15 points. She was the top vote getter among new players to the league.

Campos was joined on the All-RSC First Team by a pair of her RedStorm teammates — sophomore midfielder Trinity Hassey (Westerville, OH) and junior defender Ashton Snider (Lancaster, OH). Hassey scored five goals and had two assists for 12 points, while Snider had two goals and was regarded as the team’s top defensive player.

Senior defender Parker Ruff (Lancaster, OH) represented Rio on the Second Team. She teamed with Snider to anchor the back end of the RedStorm defense and also scored one goal.

Midway (Ky.) University senior forward Brynn Bradley headlined the First Team, while also being named the RSC Player of the Year and the RSC Offensive Player of the Year. The Nicholasville, Ky., native led the conference with 12 goals and 29 points on the year.

West Virginia University-Tech junior goalkeeper Jenna Miller was voted as the RSC Defensive Player of the Year. The native of Lake Jackson, Texas, led the conference with 112 saves, a figure that ranks ninth nationally. She posted a 1.67 goals-against average and came up big with PK stops in a quarterfinal round victory over Rio Grande in the RSC Championship Tournament.

Joining Bradley, Miller and the Rio Grande trio on the First Team were forwards Keely Hoopingarner of Indiana Kokomo, Asbury’s Elizabeth Sparks and Brittany Dye from WVU-Tech; midfielders Taylor Goldstrohm of Point Park and Delaney Long of Asbury; defenders Kelsea Joseph of Indiana East, Kyle Bobak of Point Park and Amber McIntosh from Asbury; and goal keeper Gabby Mitchum from IU East.

Along with Ruff, the All-RSC Second Team consisted of Carlow’s Haley Huber, Kayla Amidon from IU East, Ohio Christian’s Mylie Lafountaine and Caroline Absher from Asbury at forward; midfielders Jodie Pallant of WVU-Tech, Taylor Harley of Midway, Alexa Schwab from Carlow and Tori Martino of IU East; Kerenza Kent of IU Kokomo, Ellie Guenther from IU East and Carlow’s Natalie DiGiorono at defender; and goal keepers Sarah Underwood from Midway and Ella Serlin from Point Park.

Point Park (Pa.) University’s John Newbery was selected as RSC Coach of the Year. The first-year head coach led the Pioneers to the No. 1 seed in the playoffs and an 8-2 RSC record, which tied for the RSC regular season championship.

The RSC also announced a Champions of Character Team, honoring one player from each school who best exhibits the NAIA core values of the respect, responsibility, integrity, servant leadership and sportsmanship.

Rio Grande was represented on the list by freshman Christa Hopper (Mt. Orab, OH).

By Randy Payton

For Ohio Valley Publishing

Randy Payton is the Sports Information Director at the University of Rio Grande.

Randy Payton is the Sports Information Director at the University of Rio Grande.