Sheets, Jarrell named D-2 All-Ohio

By Paul Boggs - [email protected]

Gallia Academy senior Wes Jarrell (3) blocks a shot attempt by a Logan player during a February 2 SEOAL boys basketball contest in Centenary, Ohio.

Gallia Academy senior Wes Jarrell (3) blocks a shot attempt by a Logan player during a February 2 SEOAL boys basketball contest in Centenary, Ohio.

Bryan Walters/OVP Sports

COLUMBUS, Ohio — Meigs senior Kaileb Sheets and Gallia Academy senior Wes Jarrell were the Ohio Valley Publishing area’s only honorees on the 2015-16 Associated Press All-Ohio Division II boys basketball team, which has been announced.

The six-foot, one-inch senior Sheets, who was named first-team all-Southeast District, automatically earned Special Mention All-Ohio.

The six-foot, four-inch senior Jarrell, who was named second-team all-Southeast District, automatically earned Honorable Mention.

The All-Ohio Division II boys squads, which were chosen based on recommendations of a media panel throughout the state, were announced on Tuesday evening.

Also announced on Tuesday were the Division III All-Ohio teams, as the Ohio Valley Publishing area did not have any boys landing spots on that list.

Sheets averaged a team-high 15 points, five rebounds, five assists and two-and-a-half steals per game this season, as Meigs captured 18 victories for the first time since the 1986-87 campaign.

Jarrell led the Blue Devils with 16.3 points per game, and grabbed seven rebounds while also shooting 52-percent from the field.

Griffin Lutz of Athens and Tristan Bartoe of Vinton County were named first-team and second-team All-Ohio respectively, as both Southeast District standouts are juniors.

Lutz, in fact, was named the Division II Southeast District Player of the Year.

Erique Hosley of Unioto and Ridge Young of Logan Elm earned third-team All-Ohio.

In Division III, Ky’re Allison of Portsmouth and Gage Rhoades of Chesapeake are first-team selections from the Southeast District, as Allison was the Division III Southeast District POY.

Devin Pierson of Lynchburg-Clay was a second-team choice, while Bryan Rolfe of Valley was named to the third team.

Lynchburg-Clay, in fact, was the only club from the entire Southeast District to qualify for this season’s state tournament.

The 2016 AP Division II All-Ohio boys basketball team is listed in its entirety below.

First Team

Jason Carter, Johnstown-Monroe, 6-foot-7, senior, 20.9 points per game; Drew Rackley, New Concord John Glenn, 6-2, sr., 21.6; Henry Baddley, Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary, 6-5, sr., 19.0; Markell Johnson, Cleveland East Tech, 6-1, jr., 31.2; Jayrese Williams, Sandusky, 5-10, jr., 20.1; Griffin Lutz, Athens, 6-1, jr., 25.9; Carlik Jones, Cincinnati Aiken, 5-11, sr., 22.3; Danyon Hempy, River Valley, 6-5, sr., 28.0; Tervell Beck, Cleveland Central Catholic, 6-8, sr., 25.2; Torrey Patten, Trotwood-Madison, 6-4, jr., 21.1.

Players of the year: Markell Johnson, Cleveland East Tech; Drew Rackley, New Concord John Glenn; Henry Baddley, Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary

Coaches of the year: Greg Woodard, New Concord John Glenn; Larry Kukura, Alliance

Second Team

Matt Weir, New Concord John Glenn, 6-0, sr., 15.0; Isaac Davidson, East Liverpool, 6-3, sr., 27.3; Greg Parella, Ursuline, 6-2, sr., 23.4; Jayvon Graves, Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary, 6-2, jr., 17.0; Joey Zahn, Lexington, 5-11, sr., 15.4; Shay Smiddy, Defiance, 6-5, sr., 13.9; Tristan Bartoe, McArthur Vinton County, 5-11, jr., 21.0; Cameron Kane-Johnson, Niles McKinley, 5-9, sr., 25.4; Frank Royles, Cincinnati Taft, 6-2, sr., 19.8; Darnell Hoskins Jr., Dayton Thurgood Marshall, 5-11, sr., 17.0.

Third Team

Antoine Vaughn, Whitehall-Yearling, 6-0, sr., 11.0; Dalton Bolon, Gnadenhutten Indian Valley, 6-4, sr., 20.7; Jordan Fabry, Crestwood, 6-3, jr., 23.6; Justin Layne, Cleveland Benedictine, 6-4, sr.,15.5; Jackson Burdyshaw, Perry, 6-6, sr., 22.1; Wes Vent, Upper Sandusky, 6-3, jr., 22.4; Erique Hosley, Chillicothe Unioto, 6-4, sr., 10.4; Terrance Landers, Dayton Dunbar, 6-4, sr., 16.8; Jaden O’Neal, Lima Shawnee, 6-1, sr., 22.9; Ridge Young, Circleville Logan Elm, 6-0, jr., 23.9.

Special Mention

Caden Sanchez, Columbus St. Francis DeSales; Tamal Watkins, Columbus South; Charles Reeves, Steubenville; Marcus Mayle, McConnelsville Morgan; Logan McCort, St. Clairsville; Parker Black, Byesville Meadowbrook; Josh Lewis, Cambridge; Jai’Ron Brackett, Alliance; Mason Mangapora, Canfield; Conner Wess, Akron Coventry; Jerry Judd, Streetsboro; John Koz, Bay Village Bay; Jack Corrigan, Rocky River; Dwayne Cohill, Parma Heights Holy Name; Cameron Copeland, Toledo Rogers; Colin Woodside, Lancaster Fairfield Union; Max Knisley, Washington Court House Washington; Michael Camp, Circleville; Luke Drayer, Vincent Warren; Kaileb Sheets, Pomeroy Meigs.

Honorable Mention

Jake Fischer, Columbus Hartley; DeAnthony Griffin, Columbus Linden; Denton Jacob, Heath; Andrew Koenig, Plain City Jonathan Alder; Mike Schweitzer, Columbus Watterson;

Justin Cork, Byesville Meadowbrook; Tanner Slack, New Concord John Glenn; Aaron Foldi, Wintersville Indian Creek; Mason Edgell, McConnelsville Morgan; Patrick Buchanan, St. Clairsville; Wyatt Carder, Duncan Falls Philo; Michael Karl, New Philadelphia;

Bryce Hargrove, Akron Coventry; Matt Baker, Poland Seminary; Trell Thomas, Cardinal Mooney; Malik Campbell, Canton South; D.J. Pullie, Salem; Jared Burkert, Poland Seminary; Andrew Armstrong, Cardinal Mooney; Andrew Carbon, Struthers; D.J. Hancock, Alliance;

Sam Hitchcock, Jefferson Area; Brandon Kuhl, LaGrange Keystone; Justin Sylver, Cleveland Benedictine; Miryne Thomas, Cleveland Central Catholic; Marcus Ernst, Ashtabula Edgewood; RJ Sunahara, Bay Village Bay; Connor Fitzgerald, Mentor Lake Catholic;

Kam Singleton, Defiance; Brett Lauf, Napoleon; Austin Rotroff, Wauseon; Tyrell Ajian, Mansfield Madison; Corey Thomas, Ontario; Jordan Verhoff, Ottawa-Glandorf; Larry Green, Toledo Scott;

Cole Cottrill, Chillicothe Unioto; Branden Maughmer, Chillicothe; DeAndre Pettiford, Washington Court House Miami Trace; Blake Pittser, Washington Court House Miami Trace; Cameron Eckles, Washington Court House Washington; Kyler Dennis, Vincent Warren; Trent Dawson, Marietta; Wes Jarrell, Gallipolis Gallia Academy; Dylan Dupler, Thornville Sheridan; Jordan Albright, McArthur Vinton County; Jake Henderson, Waverly;

Seth Gray, Springfield Shawnee; Lonnie Berry, Cincinnati Aiken; Amari Davis, Trotwood-Madison; Joey Laravie, Kettering Archbishop Alter; Zach Larkin, Hamilton Badin.

Paul Boggs can be reached at 740-446-2342, ext. 2106

Gallia Academy senior Wes Jarrell (3) blocks a shot attempt by a Logan player during a February 2 SEOAL boys basketball contest in Centenary, Ohio. Academy senior Wes Jarrell (3) blocks a shot attempt by a Logan player during a February 2 SEOAL boys basketball contest in Centenary, Ohio. Bryan Walters/OVP Sports

By Paul Boggs

[email protected]