Marauders repeat as unbeaten champs

By Bryan Walters -

ATHENS, Ohio — It wasn’t as dominant as last year, but it’s still better than anything in this program’s illustrious past.

The Meigs golf team completed its second straight unbeaten Tri-Valley Conference Ohio Division championship in grand style Monday night after posting a five-stroke victory over the field in the 2017 finale held at Athens Country Club in Athens County.

The Marauders — who had already clinched their second straight TVC Ohio title headed into play — won their 14th consecutive league match en route to completing the program’s 19th TVC Ohio Division championship.

This Meigs squad also becomes the ninth team in school history to be on the tail end of repeating golf titles, though the 2017 club does have a rare note with it — being the first squad to ever go unbeaten in back-to-back campaigns.

The Maroon and Gold posted a winning tally of 183, which was five shots ahead of the Bulldogs and their final total of 188. Vinton County was third with 195, while Alexander (203) and Wellston (214) rounded out the four and five positions.

Neither River Valley nor Nelsonville-York had enough players for a team score, though the Raiders did earn sixth place due to having a 3-2 edge in participants.

Cameron Hamon of VCHS led the individual field with a medalist round of 3-over par 39. Meigs senior Levi Chapman and Preston Hayes of Athens shared runner-up honors with identical scores of 42.

Monday marked only the eighth time in the last 21 TVC Ohio matches that Chapman did not either win or share medalist honors at a league match.

Bobby Musser followed Chapman for MHS with a 46, while Bryce Swatzel and Wyatt Nicholson completed the winning tally with respective rounds of 47 and 48.

Cole Arnott and Brayden Ervin also had respective efforts of 57 and 61 for the Marauders.

Meigs — which defeated the 2016 field by 89 shots in seven matches, an average of 12.7 strokes per outing — managed roughly half that total this year.

The Maroon and Gold won their seven matches by a combined 51 shots this fall, an average of 7.3 strokes per match.

Of the 19 titles, 16 are now outright with three shares — in 2015 with Vinton County, 2012 with both Athens and Alexander, and in 2000 with Belpre.

In addition to 2013, 2016 and now 2017, the Marauders’ other outright championships came in 1983-84, 1990-97, and in 2005-07.

Drew Zorn followed Hayes for Athens with a 46, while Owen Campitelli and Sam Carpenter completed things with respective scores of 48 and 52. Ben Pratt and Ryan Sheehan also had rounds of 53 and 59 for the Bulldogs.

Noah Waddell followed Hamon with a 50 for the Vikings, while Bailey Bartoe and Shawn McCarty added respective rounds of 51 and 55 to wrap up the scoring. Brock Hamon and Owen Salyers also shot 56 and 64 for VCHS.

Whit Byrd paced the Spartans with a 46 and Andrew Vogt added a 49. T.J. Vogt and Matt Morris rounded out the team tally with identical rounds of 54.

Logan Colburn and Tanner MacDowell also shot 58 and 63, respectively, for Alexander.

Hunter Cardwell led the Golden Rockets with a 47, followed by Timothy Stanley with a 51. Brandyn Bush and Jacob Sheaffer completed the WHS tally with matching 58s, while Brice Sizemore also shot a 63.

Chloe Gee led the Raiders with a 67, while Tyler Roberts and Hayley Cox respectively fired rounds of 69 and 70.

Clay Hall and Caitlyn Hall posted identical efforts of 62 for the Buckeyes.

Meigs completes the 2017 campaign with its second straight 42-0 league mark. Athens was the league runner-up with a 33-9 record, while VCHS (29-13) and Alexander (22-20) also posted winning marks in conference play.

Wellston (14-28) finished fifth overall, while the Raiders (7-35) and the Buckeyes (0-42) completed the league standings.

By Bryan Walters

Bryan Walters can be reached at 740-446-2342, ext. 2101.

Bryan Walters can be reached at 740-446-2342, ext. 2101.