Henderson election results posted

Beth Sergent - [email protected]

HENDERSON — The Town of Henderson has re-elected some familiar faces to its town council after Tuesday’s general election.

Up for grabs were seats for mayor, clerk and five council seats.

With 39 ballots being cast, incumbent Mayor Jack McCoy received 38 votes and incumbent Town Clerk Carolyn McCoy received 38 votes.

Incumbent council members received the following votes: Rex Patterson, 35 votes; William Moore, 38 votes; Sheila Moore, 38 votes; Greg Winston, 32 votes. Newcomer Stanley Cook received 34 votes and ran for George Neal’s council seat. Neal did not seek re-election. Also, former Henderson Mayor Tony Cox ran as the lone write-in candidate for town council but did not receive any votes.

Jack and Carolyn McCoy, Patterson, William and Sheila Moore, Winston and Cook, will begin serving four-year terms starting July 1. The next general election in the Town of Henderson is set for June 2020.

According to Henderson town officials, there are 227 registered voters eligible to cast ballots, including 111 Democrats, 5 Independents, 1 Green Party, 43 No Party Affiliation, 67 Republicans. But, again, only 39 people voted in Tuesday’s election with 13 of those votes cast during the early voting period.

A canvas of the election results is expected to be 6 p.m. Friday at the Henderson Community Center. The Henderson Town Council meets at 7:30 p.m., the first Monday of each month, also at the Henderson Community Center.

Beth Sergent

[email protected]

Reach Beth Sergent at [email protected] or on Twitter @BSergentWrites.

Reach Beth Sergent at [email protected] or on Twitter @BSergentWrites.