Henderson voters decide races

HENDERSON — Tuesday’s special election in Henderson has decided races for mayor, recorder and council with familiar faces returning to town government.

In the race for mayor, Robert Lynn (Bobby) Smith Jr. and Jack L. McCoy Sr. were the two candidates with McCoy winning the race 58 votes to Smith’s seven votes. McCoy, who has served in various capacities in town government in Henderson for more than 50 years, is a former mayor of Henderson, though he was not the incumbent.

Incumbent Mayor Tony Michael Cox ran for recorder, as did Carolyn R. McCoy. Carolyn was serving as the town’s recorder until June 30 and has also previously served as recorder. Carolyn won this race 58 votes to Cox’s seven votes. In more recent years, Carolyn has held the position of recorder for around 18 years and also served in the 1970s.

Running for council seats were incumbents William (Bill) Moore, Sheila Moore, Rex Patterson and Gregory Winston. George Henry Neal was the only new face running for a seat on council. All five were elected to available council seats with the following vote totals: Sheila Moore had 48 votes, William Moore had 49 votes, Patterson had 55 votes, Winston had 40 votes and Neal had 26 votes.

In all, there were 68 ballots cast from a pool of around 180 registered voters. There were three provisional ballots cast. These are all unofficial results from the election. An official canvas will be 3 p.m. Monday at the Henderson Community Building and is open to the public.

Those elected during this special election began their four-year terms July 1. The next municipal election in Henderson is in 2019.

Henderson Town Council meets at 7:30 p.m. the first Monday of each month, with the exception of holidays, at the Henderson Community Building.