Ballot positions assigned for primary

Beth Sergent -

POINT PLEASANT — This week, the Mason County Clerk’s Office held its ballot drawing to decide the order in which candidates will appear in races decided during the May 10 Primary Election.

The drawing is typically closely watched in contested races and here’s a look at the order the candidates were placed in based upon this week’s random drawing:

Mason County Board of Education (two seats up for grabs): Pamela Jean Muncy, Gallipolis Ferry, District IV. Rhonda Tennant, Letart, District I. John David Morgan, Point Pleasant, District III. Leigh Ann Gardner, Point Pleasant, District III. Vicki A. Ohlinger, New Haven, District I. James “JR” Neal, Gallipolis Ferry, District IV. Mack McCarty, Ashton, District IV. Meagan Bonecutter, Point Pleasant, District III.

Mason County Commission, GOP ticket: Scott Cadle, R-Letart. Matt Roush, R-Letart. Sam Nibert, R-Gallipolis Ferry. Freddie Green, R-Fraziers Bottom. Democratic ticket: Danny Elias, D-Letart. Ray Varian, D-Mason. Rick Pearson, D-Mason.

Mason County Sheriff, GOP ticket: Joe Frank, R-Leon. Curtis “Curt” McConihay, R-Point Pleasant. Democratic ticket: Marc Kearns, D-Letart. Greg Powers, D-Point Pleasant. Jesse Raike, D-Gallipolis Ferry.

Mason County Magistrate: Division One: Cheryl Miller Ross, Point Pleasant. John Machir, Point Pleasant. Division Two: Gail L. Roush, Letart.

Mason County Assessor: Ron Hickman, D-Point Pleasant. Mason County Clerk: Diana Cromley, D-Point Pleasant. Mason County Circuit Clerk: Bill Withers, D-Ashton. Mason County Prosecuting Attorney: Ronald R.F. Stein Jr., R-Gallipolis Ferry. Conservation District Supervisor: Jeremy Grant, Southside.

State Senate, Fourth District, GOP ticket: Dustin Lewis, R-Cottageville. Mitch B. Carmichael, R-Ripley. Democratic ticket: Brian Prim, D-Fraziers Bottom. Bruce Ashworth, D-Ripley.

House of Delegates, 13th District, GOP ticket: Michael Ihle, R-Ravenswood. Robert Marchal, R-Letart. Amanda Cadle, R-Nitro. Kathie Hess Crouse, R-Buffalo. Joshua Kurt Higginbotham, R-Poca. Democratic ticket: Scott Brewer, D-New Haven. Marla “Dee” Ingels, D-New Haven. Rosalee Juba-Plumley, D-Poca. George A. Thaxon, D-Cottageville.

House of Delegates, 14th District, GOP ticket: Jim Butler, R-Gallipolis Ferry. Democratic ticket: Samantha Ann Fooce, D-Point Pleasant.

Circuit Judge, Fifth Judicial Circuit: First Division, Richard Craig Tatterson, Gallipolis Ferry. Second Division, Lora Dyer, Ripley. Kennad “Kenny” Skeen II, Ripley. Third Division, Anita Harold Ashley, Spencer. Seth Harper, Spencer. Larry Whited, Grantsville.

Family Court Judge, Fifth Judicial Circuit: First Division, Connie Fisher Thomas, New Haven. Second Division, Bryan S. Cromley, Point Pleasant.

Justice of the Supreme Court of Appeals: Darrell V. McGraw, Jr., Charleston. Wayne King, Wallback. Brent Benjamin, Charleston. Beth Walker, Morgantown. William R. “Bill” Wooton, Beckley.

U.S. House of Representatives, Third Congressional District, GOP ticket: Evan Jenkins, R-Huntington. Democratic ticket: Matt Detch, D-Lewisburg.

Governor, GOP ticket: Bill Cole, R-Bluefield. Democratic ticket: Booth Goodwin, D-Charleston. Jeff Kessler, D-Glen Dale. Jim Justice, D-Lewisburg.

Secretary of State, GOP ticket: Barry Holstein, R-Cross Lanes. Mac Warner, R-Morgantown. Democratic ticket: Patsy Trecost, D-Bridgeport. Natalie Tennant, D-Charleston.

State Auditor, GOP ticket: John “JB” McCuskey, R-Charleston. Democratic ticket: Jason Pizatella, D-Fairmont. Robin Righter, D-Shinnston. Mary Ann Claytor, D-St. Albans.

State Treasurer, GOP ticket, Larry W. Faircloth, R-Inwood. Ann Urling, R-Charleston. Democratic ticket: John D. Perdue, D-Cross Lanes.

Attorney General, GOP ticket: Patrick Morrisey, R-Harpers Ferry. Democratic ticket: Doug Reynolds, D-Huntington.

Commissioner of Agriculture, GOP ticket: Kent Leonhardt, R-Fairview. Democratic ticket: Walt Helmick, D-Marlington.

President, GOP ticket: Rand Paul, R-Bowling Green, Ky. Jeb Bush, R-Coral Gables, Fla. Donald J. Trump, R-New York, N.Y. David E. Hall, R-Stuart, Fla. John R. Kasich, R-Westerville, Ohio. Marco Rubio, R-West Miami, Fla. Mike Huckabee, R-Santa Rosa Beach, Fla. Chris Christie, R-Mendham, N.J. Ted Cruz, R-Houston, Texas. Carly Fiorina, R-Lorton, Va. Ben Carson, R-West Palm Beach, Fla. Democratic ticket: Bernie Sanders, D-Burlington, Vt. Hillary Clinton, D-Chappaqua, N.Y. Roque Rocky De La Fuente, D-San Diego, Calif. Keith Judd, D-Midland, Texas. Paul T. Farrell, Jr., D-Huntington, W.Va. Martin J. O’Malley, D-Baltimore, Md. (Note: After filing in West Virginia, some Presidential candidates have since suspended their campaigns but did so after the deadline to pull their names from the ballot.)

In addition, voters will be choosing who goes to the national conventions and those living in the City of Point Pleasant will be choosing from candidates in 12 races. Candidates for Point Pleasant’s municipal election will not be known until after the political conventions held on March 3 and 4.

Beth Sergent

Reach Beth Sergent at or on Twitter @BSergentWrites.

Reach Beth Sergent at or on Twitter @BSergentWrites.