More file for local, county offices as Saturday deadline looms

Beth Sergent -

POINT PLEASANT — As of 4 p.m. Friday, four more candidates had filed for local and county offices a day before the Jan. 30 filing deadline.

According to the office of Mason County Clerk Diana Cromley, more candidates had filed in the races for sheriff, commission, conservation district supervisor and Mason County Board of Education.

The race for county commission got a new candidate with Sam Nibert, R-Gallipolis Ferry, District IV, filing, putting him on a GOP ticket that also includes Freddie Green, R-Fraziers Bottom, District IV, Scott Cadle, R-Letart, District I, and Matt Roush, R-Letart, District I. Democrats who have filed in this race are Rick Pearson, D-Mason, District I, Ray Varian, D-Mason, District I and Danny Elias, D-Letart, District I. These candidates are vying for the seat currently held by Commissioner Miles Epling.

In the race for sheriff, Jesse Raike, D-Gallipolis Ferry, has filed and will run against Incumbent Greg Powers, D-Point Pleasant, on the democrat ticket. Also filing in this race on the GOP ticket are Joe Frank, R-Leon and Curtis Curt McConihay, R-Point Pleasant.

The Mason County Board of Education races saw one new candidate file by 4 p.m. Friday and that was John David Morgan, Point Pleasant, District III. Also filing in this race, James “JR” Neal, Gallipolis Ferry, District IV. Rhonda Tennant, Letart, District I. Mack McCarty, Ashton, District IV, Meagan Bonecutter, Point Pleasant, District III. The two seats open for these races are currently held by Tom Nunnery and Paul Sayre. Eligible candidates must live in districts one, three or four.

Also filing Friday was Jeremy Grant, Southside, for conservation district supervisor.

As previously reported, candidates who have filed in other county races are as follows: Assessor: Incumbent Ron Hickman, D-Point Pleasant. County Clerk: Incumbent Diana Cromley, D-Point Pleasant. Circuit Clerk: Incumbent Bill Withers, D-Ashton. Prosecuting Attorney: Ronald R.F. Stein Jr., R-Gallipolis Ferry. Magistrate: Incumbent Cheryl Miller Ross, Point Pleasant, Division I. Incumbent Gail L. Roush, Letart, Division II. John Machir, Point Pleasant, Division I.

There were no filings for surveyor.

Again, this listing was picked up at 4 p.m. Friday from Cromley’s office and candidates still had until 4:30 p.m. Friday to file in person or can file by mail as long as the materials are postmarked by midnight, Saturday, Jan. 30. Find the county clerk’s page on Facebook for more information.

Beth Sergent

Reach Beth Sergent at or on Twitter @BSergentWrites.

Reach Beth Sergent at or on Twitter @BSergentWrites.