Additional candidates file for May Primary

Beth Sergent -

MASON COUNTY — With the filing deadline a week away, more candidates have jumped into county, state and national races for the May Primary.

According to the office of Mason County Clerk Diana Cromley, only one new candidate filed for office this week as of 9 a.m., Friday morning and that was Meagan Bonecutter of Point Pleasant, who filed for the Mason County Board of Education. Bonecutter lives in District Three. The two seats open for this race are currently held by Tom Nunnery and Paul Sayre. Eligible candidates must live in districts one, three or four.

Candidates who have filed in other county races are as follows:

Assessor: Incumbent Ron Hickman, D-Point Pleasant. County Clerk: Incumbent Diana Cromley, D-Point Pleasant. Circuit Clerk: Incumbent Bill Withers, D-Ashton. Prosecuting Attorney: Ronald R.F. Stein Jr., R-Gallipolis Ferry. Sheriff: Incumbent Greg Powers, D-Point Pleasant. Curtis Curt McConihay, R-Point Pleasant. Magistrate: Incumbent Cheryl Miller Ross, Point Pleasant, Division One. Incumbent Gail L. Roush, Letart, Division Two. County Commission: Rick Pearson, D-Mason, District One. Ray Varian, D-Mason, District One. Danny Elias, D-Letart, District One. Scott Cadle, R-Letart, District One, (Despite filing for county office, Cadle will serve out his term as delegate for the 13th district which expires on Dec. 31). Matt Roush, R-Letart, District One.

There were no filings for surveyor or conservation district supervisor.

At the national and state level, the office of West Virginia Secretary of State Natalie Tennant reports the following candidates have filed for office as of 9 a.m., Friday:

President: Chris Christie, R-Mendham, N.J. Hillary Clinton, D-Chappaqua, N.Y. Marco Rubio, R-West Miami, Fla. Ted Cruz, R-Houston, Texas. Roque Rocky De La Fuente, D-San Diego, Calif. Carly Fiorina, R-Lorton, Va. Keith Judd, D-Midland, Texas. Donald Trump, R-New York, N.Y. U.S House of Representatives: Incumbent Evan Jenkins, R-Huntington, District Three. Matt Detch, D-Lewisburg, District Three. Governor: Bill Cole, R-Bluefield. Booth Goodwin, D-Charleston. Jim Justice, D-Lewisburg. Secretary of State: Incumbent Natalie Tennant, D-Charleston. Mac Warner, R-Morgantown. Patsy Trecost, D-Bridgeport. Auditor: John “J.B.” McCuskey, R-Charleston. Mary Ann Claytor, D-St. Albans. Robin Righter, D-Shinnston. State Treasurer: Incumbent John D. Perdue, D-Charleston. Ann Urling, R-Charleston. Commissioner of Agriculture: Incumbent Walt Helmick, D-Marlinton. Kent Leonhardt, R-Fairview. Attorney General: Incumbent Patrick Morrisey, R-Harpers Ferry. Doug Reynolds, D-Huntington. Justice of the Supreme Court of Appeals: Beth Walker, Morgantown. William R. “Bill” Wooton, Beckley. Wayne King, Wallback.

State Senate, District Four: Incumbent Mitch Carmichael, R-Ripley.

House of Delegates 13th District: Incumbent Mike Ihle, R-Ravenswood. Scott Brewer, D-New Haven. Joshua Kurt Higginbotham, R-Poca, Robert Marchal, R-Letart.

House of Delegates 14th District: Samantha Ann Fooce, D-Point Pleasant.

Circuit Judge, Fifth Judicial Circuit: Anita Harold Ashley, Spencer, Division Three. Lora Dyer, Ripley, Division Two. Richard Craig Tatterson, Gallipolis Ferry, Division One. (Despite filing for circuit judge, Tatterson, who is currently the prosecuting attorney for Mason County, will serve out his term as prosecutor which expires on Dec. 31.) Kennad “Kenny” Skeen, II, Ripley, Division Two. Larry Whited, Grantsville, Division Three.

Family Court Judge, Fifth Judicial Circuit: Incumbent Connie Fisher Thomas, New Haven, Division One. Incumbent Rebecca L. Cornett, Ripley, Division Two. Bryan S. Cromley, Point Pleasant, Division Two.

The filing period ends Jan. 30. Those filing for national, state and district positions file with Tennant’s office; those filing for county offices and the Mason County Board of Education do so at Diana Cromley’s office.

Filing can be done at the Mason County Clerk’s Office during regular business hours, which are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday-Friday. Candidates can mail filing forms, along with the applicable fee, but the envelope must be postmarked by midnight Jan. 30. Filing fees must be paid in cash, cashiers check or money order. Personal checks and debit/credit cards are not accepted. The Mason County Clerk’s Office can be reached at 304-675-1997 to answer any filing questions.

Beth Sergent

Reach Beth Sergent at or on Twitter @BSergentWrites.

Reach Beth Sergent at or on Twitter @BSergentWrites.