More candidates file for May Primary

Beth Sergent -

POINT PLEASANT — After the first week of filing came to an end, a few more names had been thrown into the running for county, state and national offices in the May Primary.

In county races, only two previously unreported candidates had filed as of 4 p.m. Friday and both filed for county commission, according to the office of Mason County Clerk Diana Cromley.

Ray Varian, D-Mason, from District 1, filed for the seat, as did Danny Elias D-Letart, also from District 1. As previously reported, also filing in this race were Rick Pearson, D-Mason, District 1; Scott Cadle, R-Letart, District 1; and Matt Roush, R-Letart, District 1; Cadle, who currently serves as state delegate for the 13th District, said despite filing for county commission, he will continue to serve out his term as delegate that expires Dec. 31.

Other candidates in county races as of 4 p.m. Friday are: Assessor: Incumbent Ron Hickman, D-Point Pleasant. County Clerk: Incumbent Diana Cromley, D-Point Pleasant. Circuit Clerk: Incumbent Bill Withers, D-Ashton. Prosecuting Attorney: Ronald R.F. Stein Jr., R-Gallipolis Ferry. Sheriff: Incumbent Greg Powers, D-Point Pleasant. Curtis Curt McConihay, R-Point Pleasant. Magistrate: Incumbent Cheryl Miller Ross, Point Pleasant, Division One. Incumbent Gail L. Roush, Letart, Division Two.

There were no filings for surveyor, conservation district supervisor or the two opens seats on the Mason County Board of Education. The seats up for grabs on the Mason County Board of Education are currently held by Tom Nunnery and Paul Sayre. Eligible candidates must live in Districts 1, 3 or 4.

At the national and state level, the office of West Virginia Secretary of State Natalie Tennant reports the following candidates have filed for office as of 5 p.m., Friday:

President: Ted Cruz, R-Houston, Texas. Roque Rocky De La Fuente, D-San Diego, Calif. Carly Fiorina, R-Lorton, Va. Keith Judd, D-Midland, Texas. Donald Trump, R-New York, N.Y. U.S House of Representatives: Incumbent Evan Jenkins, R-Huntington, District Three. Governor: Bill Cole, R-Bluefield. Booth Goodwin, D-Charleston. Jim Justice, D-Lewisburg. Secretary of State: Incumbent Natalie Tennant, D-Charleston. Mac Warner, R-Morgantown. Auditor: John “J.B.” McCuskey, R-Charleston. Mary Ann Claytor, D-St. Albans. Robin Righter, D-Shinnston. State Treasurer: Incumbent John D. Perdue, D-Charleston. Ann Urling, R-Charleston. Commissioner of Agriculture: Incumbent Walt Helmick, D-Marlinton. Kent Leonhardt, R-Fairview. Attorney General: Incumbent Patrick Morrisey, R-Harpers Ferry. Doug Reynolds, D-Huntington. Justice of the Supreme Court of Appeals: Beth Walker, Morgantown. William R. “Bill” Wooton, Beckley.

State Senate: Incumbent Mitch Carmichael, R-Ripley.

House of Delegates 13th District: Incumbent Mike Ihle, R-Ravenswood. Scott Brewer, D-New Haven. Joshua Kurt Higginbotham, R-Poca, Robert Marchal, R-Letart.

House of Delegates 14th District: Samantha Ann Fooce, D-Point Pleasant.

Circuit Judge, Fifth Judicial Circuit: Anita Harold Ashley, Spencer, Division Three. Lora Dyer, Ripley, Division Two. Richard Craig Tatterson, Gallipolis Ferry, Division One. Tatterson is currently the prosecuting attorney for Mason County and will continue as such, serving out his term as prosecutor which expires on Dec. 31.

Family Court Judge, Fifth Judicial Circuit: Incumbent Connie Fisher Thomas, New Haven, Division One.

The filing period ends Jan. 30. Those filing for national, state and district positions file with Tennant’s office; those filing for county offices and the Mason County Board of Education do so at Cromley’s office.

Filing can be done at the Mason County Clerk’s Office during regular business hours, which are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday-Friday. Candidates can mail filing forms, along with the applicable fee, but the envelope must be postmarked by midnight Jan. 30. Filing fees must be paid in cash, cashiers check or money order. Personal checks and debit/credit cards are not accepted. Cromley’s office can be reached at 304-675-1997 to answer any filing questions.

Beth Sergent

Reach Beth Sergent at or on Twitter @BSergentWrites.

Reach Beth Sergent at or on Twitter @BSergentWrites.