Henderson to hold special election June 30

HENDERSON — The Town of Henderson will be holding a special election June 30.

The special election will decide races for mayor, recorder and all five council seats.

The sample ballot includes the following candidates: Robert Lynn (Bobby) Smith, Jr. and Jack L. McCoy Sr. for mayor. McCoy is a former mayor of Henderson though he is not the incumbent.

Current Mayor Tony Michael Cox is running for recorder as is Carolyn R. McCoy. Carolyn is currently serving as the town’s recorder until June 30 and has also previously served as recorder.

Running for council seats are incumbents William (Bill) Moore, Sheila Moore, Rex Patterson and Gregory Winston. George Henry Neal is the only new face running for a seat on council. Again, there are five council seats to fill in this election.

Early voting for the special election is from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m., June 17-27 at the Henderson Community Building. On the day of the actual election, June 30, voting will take place from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. at the Henderson Community Building.

For those running in this special election, terms begin on July 1 and are for four years. This means the next election cycle would be in 2019.

Residents wanting to participate in the election must be a registered voter. To check your voting status, call the Mason County Clerk’s Office at 304-675-1997.

Municipal elections recently took place in both Mason and Hartford, though these were not special elections. This special election was reportedly, unanimously agreed upon by members of Henderson Town Council. Mason County Commissioners had also recently met with officials from the Town of Henderson, reportedly discussing the special election.