Wahama High School holds 57th alumni banquet

MASON — Over 125 alumni and guests gathered at Wahama High School for the 57th annual alumni banquet. Classes graduating in years ending in 7 celebrated reunions. The Class of 1967 was the honored guest celebrating 50 years.

Alumni were greeted and registered by Mary Artis, Judy Duncan McWhorter, Mary Foster Hendricks and Beverly Carson Knapp.

Rex Howard, president of the alumni association, welcomed everyone to the alumni banquet. The invocation was given by Dale Machir, Class of 1967. The meal was prepared by the Lutheran Church of New Haven and served by the Sassafras 4-H Club.

Following the meal, Chloris Machir McQuaid recognized veterans by announcing the name and branch of the military. Each veteran was given a star patch from StarsForOurTroops.org. They were packaged with the following inscription, “I am part of our American flag that has flown over the USA. I can no longer fly. The sun and winds caused me to become tattered and torn. Please carry me as a reminder that You are not forgotten.”

Miss West Virginia USA, Lauren Roush, Class of 2013, spoke to the group about her journey to the title. She grew up in Mason and always felt like “the Princess of Center Street”. Lauren always dreamed of being Mason County Fair Queen and Miss West Virginia. She focused on perseverance and following your dreams. Although she did not capture the Fair Queen title, she is the reigning Miss West Virginia USA.

Wahama Alumni Association Scholarship Committee presented $4,000 in scholarships to the following members of the Class of 2017: Philip Hoffman III, son of Philip Jr. and Tammy Hoffman; Amara Helton, daughter of Laura Smith; Nena Hunt, daughter of Robert and Nickki Hunt; Matthew Wood, son of Ryan and Tracy Wood; Kaleb Gibbs, son of Robin Gibbs; Madeline Grace Hill, daughter of Kevin and Annette Hill; Taylor McGrew, daughter of Ray and Pam McGrew and Krista Clay, daughter of Paul and Debra Clay.

This year, the Alumni Association’s special fund for scholarships enabled the Association to award six additional scholarships. Alumni who are unable to attend the banquet are encouraged to pay dues and make donations to the scholarship fund.

A short business meeting was conducted and officers were elected for 2018. New officers are: President: Rex Howard; Co-President: Jim Stewart; Vice President: Chloris Machir McQuaid; Co-Vice President: Sonya Yonker Roush; Treasurer: Mary Artis; Secretary: Beverly Carson Knapp; Historian: Susan Zuspan Winebrenner; and Committee Members: Judy Duncan McWhorter, Mary Foster Hendricks and Diane Finnicum.

Gifts were given to attending members of the Classes of 1943-1950. Attendees at the alumni banquet came from 12 different states. Six alumni traveled over 500 miles to attend the banquet, and two alumni traveled over 1,000 miles. Mary Roush Bentz, Class of 1974 from Galveston, Texas, received a gift for traveling the farthest. Door prizes were given from the following sponsors: Bob’s Market, City National Bank, Fast 4 U, Foxy Locks, Health Aid Pharmacy, Traveltime Tours and Thompson’s Hardware.

Those attending were: Class of 1943 — Gale (Betty and Cindy) Berry, South Charleston; Class of 1944 — Lawrence (Rae) Foreman, Middleport; Ralph Sayre, New Haven; Class of 1945 — Harry “Chub” Pickens, New Haven; Class of 1946 — Orpha Weaver Fields, New Haven;

Class of 1947 — Enid Layne Adams, New Haven; Class of 1948 — Kathleen Grinstead Roush, New Haven; Barbara Lieving Zerkle, New Haven; Danny Yonker, Mason; Class of 1949 — Jane Abbott, Pomeroy; Class of 1950 — Charlotte Cook Yonker, Mason; Class of 1953 — Betty Hoschar (Lawrence) Davidson, Groveport Ohio; Doris Litton Harrah, Little Hocking Ohio; Susannah Roush Lewis, Letart; Class of 1954 — Martha Henry Coleman, Pataskala, Ohio; Ruth Lieving Roush, Letart; John Pete Roush, Gallipolis; James Stewart, Chester; Mary Stewart Fowler, Point Pleasant; Class of 1956 — Doris Donohue (Mike) Martin, Letart; Julia Edwards Willoughby, Letart; Betty Jones Rawlings, Mason; James W. (Roberta) Roush, Gallipolis; Braunda Lieving Ballou, E. Douglas, Mass.;

Class of 1957 – Jerry (Delma) Arnold, New Haven; Betty Capehart (Gene) Moore, Patriot Ohio; Frances Johnson Stukey, New Haven; Carol Ramey (Earl) McClellan, Grove City, Ohio; Class of 1958 – Linda Brinker Meadows, Letart; John (Charlotte and Mark) Layne, Wilton Conn.; Agnes Roush, Mason; Class of 1959 — Bruce Staats, Mason; Class of 1960 — Bernice Bond VanMeter, Rutland Ohio; Delores Mattox Long, Middleport Ohio; Marilyn Schwarz Strother, Louisville Ky.; Class of 1961 – Susan Zuspan (Gordon) Winebrenner, Syracuse;

Class of 1962 — Okey Capehart, Columbus; Beverly Sue Greer Crawford, New Haven; Class of 1963 — Nick Howard, Richmond Ind.; Chloris Machir McQuaid, Pomeroy; Class of 1965 — Mary Artis, Point Pleasant; Judy Duncan McWhorter, Point Pleasant; Judy Finnicum Eblin, Rutland Ohio; Mary Foster Hendricks, Mason; Reg Hart, Hurricane W.Va.; Class of 1966 — Bonnie Blake Crabtree, Parkersburg; Nancy Proffitt, Mason; Chester Pyatt, Eustis Fla.;

Class of 1967 — Roy David Cooke, Letart; Larry Fry, New Haven; Ed (Debby) Halstead, Louisville Ky.; Paul Hoffman, Letart; Christy Howard Upton, Ronceverte W.Va.; Brian (Sharon) Kearns, Mason; Charlene Kelly Fry, New Haven; Beckie Lewis Stein (Don) Lambert, Pomeroy; Dale (Jenny) Machir, Loveland Ohio; Diane Noble Hoffman, Letart; Linda Ord (Mark) Ford, Gardendale AL; Sherron Queen Barnett, Davisville W.Va.; Diana Reed (Larry) Conner, Eustis Fla.; Rebecca Shrimplin (Jeffrey) Smith, Mt. Vernon Ohio; Sandy Sorden Henry, Mason; Roger (Sally) Taylor, Letart; Otis Ray VanMatre, Middleport Ohio; Harriet Walsh Dorado, Delray Beach Fla.; Arnold (Melanie) Weaver, Vinton Ohio; Jennifer Zerkle Hart, Hurricane W.Va.; Michael (Joy) Zirkle, Nitro W.Va.;

Class of 1968 – Philip (Joyce Ann) Burgess, Syracuse; Sandra Greer (James) Shell, New Haven; Alan Hart, Fayetteville W,Va.; Kathy Ingels Farr, Mason; Rhonda Kaylor Wood, Letart; Kathy Roush Rickard, New Haven; Karen Staats Hindel, New Haven; Sonya Yonker Roush, Letart; Class of 1970 — Beverly Carson Knapp, West Columbia; Terry (Elizabeth Jane) Foreman, Colonial Beach, Va.; Class of 1972 — Bruce (Marjorie) Adams, New Haven; Michael Lieving, New Haven; Class of 1973 — Jayne Hart Purich, Sharon Pa.; Class of 1974 — Holly Layne Lieving, New Haven; Mary Roush (Steven) Bentz, Galveston Tex.; Class of 1975 — Diane Finnicum, Rutland Ohio; Rex Howard, New Haven;

Class of 1977 — Thomas (Robin) Foreman, Macon Ga.; Class of 1984 — Philip (Tammy) Hoffman Jr., Mason; Class of 1994 — Janel Gillispie Harrison, New Haven; Class of 2013 — Lauren Roush, Morgantown W.Va.; Class of 2016 — Morgan Harrison, Letart; Class of 2017 — Philip Hoffman III, Mason; Matthew Wood, New Haven.

Information submitted by Beverly Knapp.