Mason, Hartford, Leon elections Tuesday

By Mindy Kearns - Special to the Register

MASON COUNTY — Voters in Mason, Hartford and Leon will be going to the polls Tuesday when municipal elections take place in all three towns.

Polls will be open Tuesday from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. Early voting continues today, however, at each town hall until 5 p.m.

The Mason election promises to be the most closely watched, with the most competition. Five candidates are seeking the seat of mayor, including incumbent Donna Dennis. Others running are Chuck Blake, Heath Engle, Darin Young and Larry Daniel.

Two candidates will be vying for the recorder position. They are incumbent Ciji Casto and Susan Yeager.

A total of 10 candidates are seeking seats on the five-member council. All incumbents are seeking reelection, including Becky Pearson, Emily Henry, Marty Yeager, Sharon Kearns, and Bob Wing. The four newcomers are Becky Wing, Misty Young, Ricky Kearns, and David Reed. Not on the ballot, but running as a write-in candidate, is Ralph Ross.

Hartford residents will have fewer choices with only one candidate for the mayor and recorder positions. Incumbent Mayor Gordon Spencer will seek reelection, as will incumbent Recorder Cheryl Oldaker.

Voters will have their choice of council members, however, as six people are seeking the five council seats. Nancy Anderson, along with incumbents Carol Spencer and Patty Neil, will be on the ballot. Write-in candidates include Kenny Hoschar, James Zerkle and Greg Willett.

Candidates in Leon include incumbent M. Bruce Riffle for mayor, and incumbent C. Renae Riffle for recorder. There are only four seeking council spots. They are Sue McKeever, Sam Legg, Wayne McKeever, and Greg Barker. The fifth council member will be appointed after the new administration takes office.

New terms for those elected will begin July 1.

By Mindy Kearns

Special to the Register

Mindy Kearns is a freelance writer for Ohio Valley Publishing, email her at [email protected]

Mindy Kearns is a freelance writer for Ohio Valley Publishing, email her at [email protected]