Early voting to begin in Mason, Hartford, Leon

By Mindy Kearns - Special to the Register

MASON COUNTY — Early voting begins next week for municipal elections in the towns of Mason, Hartford and Leon.

While the election date is June 13, residents can vote early from May 31 through June 10 each weekday, and including two Saturdays. Times for the Saturday voting on June 3 and 10 are set by the state as 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

In Mason, voters can go to the town hall Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. during the designated period. Hours for early voting in Hartford are Monday and Tuesday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., and 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Wednesday through Friday. Voting will be held at the water office in the council chambers. The Leon town hall could not be reached for voting hours.

Voters will have a large selection of candidates in Mason, with five running for mayor, two for recorder, and 10 candidates for the five-member council.

Seeking the mayor’s seat are incumbent Donna Dennis, as well as Heath Engle, Darin Young, Chuck Blake and Larry Daniel. Running for the recorder position are incumbent Ciji Casto and Susan Yeager.

Council hopefuls are incumbents Bob Wing, Emily Henry, Sharon Kearns, Marty Yeager, and Becky Pearson, as well as Becky Wing, Misty Young, Ricky Kearns, and David Reed. Ralph Ross filed as a write-in candidate.

Hartford residents will have fewer choices with only one candidate for the mayor and recorder positions. Incumbent Mayor Gordon Spencer will seek reelection, as will incumbent Recorder Cheryl Oldaker.

Six candidates are seeking a position on the five-member council. Nancy Anderson, along with incumbents Carol Spencer and Patty Neil, will be on the ballot. Write-in candidates include Kenny Hoschar, James Zerkle, and Greg Willett.

Candidates in Leon include incumbent M. Bruce Riffle for mayor, and incumbent C. Renae Riffle for recorder. There are only four seeking council spots. They are Sue McKeever, Wayne McKeever, Sam Legg, and Greg Barker. The fifth council member will be appointed after the new administration takes office.

New terms for those elected will begin July 1.

By Mindy Kearns

Special to the Register

Mindy Kearns is a freelance writer or Ohio Valley Publishing, email her at [email protected]

Mindy Kearns is a freelance writer or Ohio Valley Publishing, email her at [email protected]