Deadline to file as write-in set for April 25

By Mindy Kearns - Special to the Register

MASON COUNTY — Those wishing to enter the race in the municipal elections in Mason, Hartford, and Leon have a few weeks remaining to declare themselves as write-in candidates.

The deadline to file as a write-in candidate is April 25, according to the West Virginia Secretary of State’s Office. Elections in the three towns will be June 13.

The names of write-in candidates will not appear on the election ballots. They must be written on the ballot by the voter. Interested potential candidates should visit their respective town hall for specific instructions on how to file.

Meanwhile, the ballots in Mason will contain a full slate of candidates, including five mayoral hopefuls.

Mayor Donna Dennis will be seeking reelection. Other candidates for mayor are Heath Engle, Larry Daniel, Darin Young and Chuck Blake. Seeking the office of recorder are incumbent Ciji Casto and Susan Yeager.

Nine candidates are running for one of five council seats. They include incumbents Bob Wing, Sharon Kearns, Marty Yeager, Emily Henry and Becky Pearson, as well as Becky Wing, Misty Young, Ricky Kearns and David Reed.

In Hartford, there are only three candidates currently running for the five-member council. They are Nancy Anderson, along with incumbents Carol Spencer and Patty Neil.

There is one candidate for mayor, incumbent Gordon Spencer. Incumbent Recorder Cheryl Oldaker will seek reelection as the lone candidate for that position.

The Town of Leon has one candidate each for the offices of mayor and recorder. Mayor M. Bruce Riffle will seek reelection, as will Recorder C. Renae Riffle.

There are only four candidates on the ballot for the five-member council. They include Sue McKeever, Wayne McKeever, Sam Legg and Greg Barker.

The last day to register to vote in the municipal elections is May 23. Early voting will be held May 31 through June 10, and new terms for those elected will begin July 1.

By Mindy Kearns

Special to the Register