Update on Mason, Hartford elections

By Mindy Kearns - Special to the Register

BEND AREA — With the three-week filing period over, voters in the municipal election in Mason will have a choice for every office, but that is not the case in Hartford.

The filing period for the June 13 elections ended Saturday.

A total of five people will be seeking the mayor’s position in Mason, while two will be vying for the recorder’s spot, and nine will be competing for five council seats. In Hartford, there is one candidate for mayor and recorder, and only three candidates to fill five council positions.

Mason Mayor Donna Dennis threw her hat into the political ring during the final week to seek re-election. She will be joined by four additional mayoral candidates, including Chuck Blake, Darin Young, Larry Daniel and Heath Engle.

Recorder candidates in Mason are incumbent Ciji Casto and Susan Yeager. Running for council seats will be incumbents Becky Pearson, Emily Henry, Marty Yeager, Sharon Kearns, and Bob Wing, as well as Becky Wing, David Reed, Ricky Kearns, and Misty Young.

Salaries for office holders in the Town of Mason include $200 a week for the mayor, with a required minimum of 12 hours of work per week; $450 a month for recorder, with eight hours required per week in the office during regular business hours; and $25 per meeting attended for council members.

In Hartford, Mayor Gordon Spencer will seek re-election as the lone candidate for that spot. Incumbent Recorder Cheryl Oldaker is also the only candidate to seek that office. Running for council are incumbents Carol Spencer and Patty Neil, as well as Nancy Anderson.

The Hartford mayor has a salary of $100 per month, while council members are paid $50 per month.

Although the deadline to file candidacy was Saturday, there remains a possibility that additional candidates might have mailed their forms, and that they have not yet been received by the towns. The forms were required to be postmarked by midnight on Jan. 28.

Potential candidates can also still choose to run as a write-in, with the deadline being April 25. The names of write-in candidates do not appear on the ballot. Those wishing to vote for these candidates must actually write the names on the ballot.

The deadline for a candidate to withdraw is March 21, and officials will begin their terms of office on July 1.

By Mindy Kearns

Special to the Register

Mindy Kearns is a freelance writer for Ohio Valley Publishing who can be reached at mindykearns1@hotmail.com.

Mindy Kearns is a freelance writer for Ohio Valley Publishing who can be reached at mindykearns1@hotmail.com.