Mason, Hartford elections this Tuesday

BEND AREA — Residents of Mason and Hartford will be going to the polls Tuesday to elect town leaders who will take office July 1.

A mayor, recorder, and five council members will be elected in each town. The polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

Early voting was held in both towns from May 27 through June 6.

In Hartford, three candidates are seeking the seat of mayor. They include Gordon Spencer and James Zerkle, who will be listed on the ballot, as well as Gregory Willet, whose name must be written in to be counted.

Only one person is running for recorder. Cheryl Oldaker is the incumbent candidate. Seeking one of five council seats are David Burris, Patty Neil, Carol Spencer, Leeann Zerkle, incumbents, and Charlotte Kimes, Natalie Staats and Billy Roush.

In Mason, Donna Dennis, incumbent, and Larry Daniel are seeking the mayor’s position. Ciji Casto, incumbent, will be the lone candidate on the ballot as recorder.

Seven candidates are running for the five council positions. They are Emily Henry, Ray “Porky” Varian, Marty Yeager, incumbents, Ronald Heath, Becky Pearson, and Bob Reed. Incumbent Bob Wing’s name will not appear on the ballot, but must be written in for a vote. Because Bob Reed has moved out of Mason town limits, if he is elected, he will not be permitted to serve, according to Recorder Ciji Casto. A council member will be appointed in his place.