AARP honors legislators

CHARLESTON — AARP West Virginia honored four members of the West Virginia Legislature for their recent designation as AARP National “Capitol Caregivers”at the State Capitol on Wednesday.

West Virginia Senate Majority Leader Mitch Carmichael (Jackson, 4th District), Senate Health Chairman Sen. Ryan Ferns (Ohio, 1st District), House Majority Leader Daryl Cowles (Morgan, 58th District), and House Health Chairman Del. Joe Ellington (Mercer, 27th District) were among 76 state legislators from 25 states named to AARP’s 2015 class of “Capitol Caregivers,” a bipartisan group of elected state officials who have made an important difference for family caregivers through their leadership and their efforts in statehouses across the country.

“AARP created this national award to recognize elected leaders who advance policies to support the family caregivers who make it possible for older Americans to live independently in their homes and communities — where they want to be,” said Gaylene Miller, AARP West Virginia State Director. “We’re pleased to honor Sen. Carmichael, Sen. Ferns, Delegate Cowles and Delegate Ellington for their passionate advocacy and leadership on the issues impacting 50-plus West Virginians and our state’s nearly 300,000 family caregivers.”

Contributed by AARP West Virginia.