CEOS county council meets

After a very successful year in 2016, the Mason County Community Educational Outreach Service (CEOS) started making plans for 2017 with their first meeting held at the Ashton Baptist Church on Jan.10, with the Wohelo Club hosting the meeting.

A luncheon was served. Favors were small penguin bags containing chap stick, lotion and emery boards and a bag of white and dark chocolate snow flakes.

Janelle Erwin presented the meditations from a book entitled “God’s Words of Life.” She read scriptures from Nahum 1:7, James 4:8 and Psalm 46:10. The article dealt with stress.

Secretary and treasurer reports were given. Reports were given from three of the four Educational Committees.

A budget was presented by the Executive Committee and approved as presented.

In connection with the NVON Project in Common, members were urged to buy locally grown foods whenever possible.

Members will attend the Charleston Area Spring Meeting on March 25 in Cabell County and Marcia Nibert, Lorrie Wright and Clinedda Austin will be planning a Spring Luncheon for Mason County.

President Clinedda Austin, announced that the WVCEOS awards three scholarships each year. One for nursing, one for Family and Consumer Science and the Gertrude Humphreys Scholarship. You must be a sophomore, junior or senior in college to apply and be a graduate of a West Virginia High School and a resident of West Virginia. The Humphrey’s Scholarship is available only to female students.

Educational lessons for 2017 which are prepared by West Virginia Extension Agents throughout West Virginia will be issued to the club lesson leaders by the Continuing Educational Committee every three months. Unused lessons will be distributed to public places with CEOS contact information printed on the lessons.

The Continuing Educational Committee will have a meeting at the Courthouse Annex on Feb. 10 at 10 a.m. to make plans for the Youth Expo coming up in April.

Plans are being made to install “Little Free Libraries” throughout Mason County.

Twenty eight members attended this meeting: Marge Blake, Eleanor Hoffman, Patty Johnson, Yvonne Fetty, Anne C. Byus, Phyllis Hesson, Mary Artis, Jackie Scarberry, Natalie Morgan, Stella Morgan, Jerry Morgan, Helen Lyons, Donna Short, Sherry Mayes, Clinedda Austin, Marylin Higginbotham, Mary Sue Kincaid, Catherine Yauger, Lorrie Wright, Doris Duncan, Desire Sparks, Betty Mayes, Patricia Flora, Linda Holley,Marie Mayes, Janelle Erwin, Betty McCoy, and Betsy Cicoff.

Submitted by Reporter Catherine Yauger.