Last updated: July 26. 2013 4:12PM - 156 Views
Bryan Walters

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The Gallia Academy soccer team had three players selected to the 2012 All-Southeastern Ohio Athletic League boys soccer squad, as voted on by the SEOAL coaches.

Senior Zach Stewart was the lone first team selection for the Blue Devils, while juniors Alex Greer and Winston Wade earned honorable mentions accolades. It is the second time that both Wade and Stewart have been chosen to the All-SEOAL soccer squad, and it is the first time that Greer has come away with the honor.

Gallia Academy finished the 2012 campaign with a 3-13-1 overall mark and was the only winless club in the SEOAL at 0-7-1. Chillicothe and Warren shared the SEOAL title, Jackson finished third and Logan was fourth out of five teams. Portsmouth does not have a varsity boys soccer program.

The Warriors and Cavaliers both landed seven players apiece on the All-SEOAL team, with the Ironmen and Chieftains both placing five each on the squad. Nick Koch of Warren was named the Player of the Year, while Coach of the Year honors were shared by Michael McCorkle of Chillicothe and Andrew Johnson of Warren.

2012 All-SEOAL Boys Soccer Team

Noah Adams, Chillicothe 12

Dalton Bettendorf*, Chillicothe 12

Elijah Crabtree*, Chillicothe 11

Jacob Weber*, Chillicothe 11

Frankie Whalen, Chillicothe 10

Zach Stewart*, Gallipolis 12

Evan Crabtree*, Jackson 12

Brandon Ghearing, Jackson 10

Dillon Wyant*, Jackson 11

Matt Freeman, Logan 12

Patrick Klinger, Logan 12

Keith Tolliver*, Logan 12

Nick Koch*, Warren 12

Ty Kroner, Warren 12

Aaron Mazurkiewicz, Warren 10

Alex Miller, Warren 12

Evan Yabs*, Warren 12

Player of the Year: Nick Koch, Warren

Co-Coaches of the Year: Michael McCorkle, Chillicothe; Andrew Johnson, Warren

Honorable mention: Matthew Benson (freshman) and Tristan Oesterle (junior), Chillicothe; Alex Greer (junior) and Winston Wade* (junior), Gallipolis; David Leach (senior) and Jason Lorbach (senior), Jackson; Mitchell Clark (senior) and Cody Wilson* (junior), Logan; Eli Duff (senior) and Wyatt Lynch (junior), Warren.

Final Standings: T1. Chillicothe and Warren (5-1-2), 3. Jackson (3-3-2), 4. Logan (1-2-5), 5. Gallipolis (0-7-1).

*—Denotes previous All-SEOAL honors. Koch was Player of the Year in 2011; Johnson was co-Coach of the Year in 2011; Wade was All-SEOAL in 2011; Weber, Wyant, Crabtree, Tolliver and Yabs were all honorable mention in 2011. Team was selected in a recent vote of league coaches. Each team received two automatic All-SEOAL honorable mention selections.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Point Pleasant Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com