Quantcast


Last updated: July 26. 2013 3:56PM - 205 Views
Nathan Jeffers
njeffers@heartlandpublications.com



Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

MASON COUNTY — With the Mason County Fair winding down, locals are no doubt kicking it into high gear shopping for new clothes and supplies and making sure everything is ready for the 2012-13 school year.


In just over a week’s time, children will start waking up early to catch the bus and will possibly be staying up late finishing their homework when the new school year begins on Monday, Aug. 20. Students get a little more of a reprieve than teachers and other staff members, whose first day back will be Wednesday, Aug. 15.


While some students will be glad to be back, others will be of course looking forward to their next day off. According to the school calendar, students will have the following holidays off from school: Labor Day on Sept. 3, Veteran’s Day on Nov. 12, Thanksgiving Day on Nov. 22, Christmas Day on Dec. 25, New Year’s Day on Jan. 1, Martin Luther King Day on Jan. 21, and Memorial Day on May 27. It was noted that since Veteran’s Day, which is Nov. 11, falls on a Sunday, it will be observed Monday, Nov. 12. Students also have the day off from school on Tuesday, Nov. 6, due to the election.


In addition to having Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day off, students will of course have additional days off surrounding those holidays. Additional vacation days surrounding Thanksgiving begin on Monday, Nov. 19 and continue through Friday, Nov. 23. Additional vacation days surrounding Christmas will begin on Monday, Dec. 24 and continue until Monday, Dec. 31. There is also a week of vacation days scheduled in April, also known as “Spring Break,” beginning Monday, April 1 and continuing through Friday, April 5.


As well as vacation days, there are several other days other days throughout the school year where the students do not have to attend. There are five Instructional Support and Enhancement days scheduled throughout the year and those dates are as follows: Friday, Oct. 12, Friday, Dec. 21, Monday, Feb. 18, Friday, April 26, and Thursday, June 6.


Also listed in the calendar are three Continuing Professional Development days, which are on Aug. 15 and 16, and June 7, one Teacher-Pupil-Parent conference day on March 29, and six Outside School Environment days on March 1, 8, 15, 22, April 12, and 19


It was also reported the last day of the first semester was Jan. 11. The last day of the instructional term is June 6, and the last day of the employment term was June 10.


To view the calendar for the 2012-13 school year, visit www.edline.com/pages/mcboewv. For any other questions, contact the Mason County Schools office at 304-675-4540.


Comments
comments powered by Disqus



Featured Businesses


Poll



Info Minute



Gas Prices

Point Pleasant Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com