4 named to D-4 All-Ohio boys team

By Paul Boggs - pboggs@civitasmedia.com

South Gallia senior Joseph Ehman, left, releases a three-point attempt during the second half of a December 22, 2015, boys basketball contest against Gallia Academy in Mercerville, Ohio.

Bryan Walters/OVP Sports

COLUMBUS, Ohio — As it turned out, Ehman was a good omen for the South Gallia High School boys basketball team.

SGHS senior Joseph Ehman — one of four players from Gallia and Meigs counties to be named all-Ohio in Division IV boys — was the only one to earn Special Mention honors, while three others earned Honorable Mention.

The all-Ohio Division IV boys squads, which were chosen based on recommendations of a media panel throughout the state, were announced on Monday evening.

Also announced on Monday were the Division III all-Ohio teams, as the Ohio Valley Publishing area did not have any boys landing spots on that list.

The five-foot 10-inch senior Ehman — by making first-team Division IV all-Southeast District — automatically earned at least Special Mention all-Ohio.

His Rebel teammate and fellow senior Landon Hutchinson, along with juniors Jett Facemyer of Eastern and Crenson Rogers of Southern, were hailed as Honorable Mention.

Hutchinson, Facemyer and Rogers registered second-team all-Southeast District — automatically making them Special Mention all-Ohio.

Hutchinson, in fact, was Honorable Mention all-Ohio two years ago as well.

Ehman averaged 20.1 points, six-and-a-half rebounds, three assists and four steals per game this year.

Hutchinson — standing six-foot-two — averaged 13.9 points, nine rebounds, three assists and three steals.

The Rebels captured the Division IV sectional championship this season, and went 17-5 in the regular campaign.

The six-foot Facemyer averaged 23.7 points per game, along with six boards and four steals.

The 6-3 Rogers recorded 10.7 points and 5.8 rebounds.

Bryce Guthrie of Trimble and Akia Brown of Sciotoville East are first-team selections from the Southeast District, as Guthrie was the Division IV Southeast District Player of the Year.

Jordan Welch of Waterford was a second-team choice, while Shane Zimmerman of South Webster was named to the third team.

The 2016 AP Division IV all-Ohio boys basketball team is listed in its entirety below.

First Team

Houston Smith, Columbus Africentric, 6-foot-5, senior, 19.3 points per game; Aaron Gehlken, Zanesville Bishop Rosecrans, 6-1, jr., 18.6; Jaret Majestic, Malvern, 6-2, jr., 23.6; Austin Rutecki, Lisbon David Anderson, 6-5, sr., 18.5; Michael Bothwell, Willoughby Cornerstone Christian Academy, 6-2, so., 20.4; Trenton Zimmerman, Sandusky St. Mary’s, 6-6, sr. 20.9; Bryce Guthrie, Glouster Trimble, 6-1, sr., 18.2; Drew Sosby, Jackson Center, 6-1, sr., 19.5; Akia Brown, Sciotoville Community East, 5-11, jr., 21.5; Jake Bertemes, South Charleston Southeastern Local, 5-11, sr., 18.5.

Players of the year: Houston Smith, Columbus Africentric; Michael Bothwell, Willoughby Cornerstone Christian Academy; Drew Sosby, Jackson Center

Coaches of the year: Brent Hammonds, Van Wert Lincolnview; Chris Huckshold, Lisbon David Anderson

Second Team

Matt Bailey, Grove City Christian, 5-9, jr., 20.0; Zeddie Pollock, Mogadore, 6-2, sr., 16.2; Donald McCain, Cleveland Heights Lutheran East, 6-2, sr., 18.0; Grant Loy, New Washington Buckeye Central, 6-4, sr., 18.0; Jordan Welch, Waterford, 6-0, jr., 13.9; Tanner Clark, Caldwell, 6-0, sr., 19.5; Alex Jones, Bristolville Bristol, 6-3, sr., 17.0; Jerad Seiler, Gorham Fayette, 6-4, sr., 14.8; Nathan Lessing, Sidney Fairlawn, 6-2, jr., 28.3; Max Hogue, Newark Catholic, 6-2, sr., 17.0.

Third Team

Lorenze Gordon-Haynes, Columbus Africentric, 6-3, sr., 19.3; Blaze Glenn, Toronto, 5-8, sr., 23.5; Kavon Swoope, Lake Center Christian, 6-1, sr., 20.1; Keandre Graves, Cleveland Heights Lutheran East, 6-3, so., 16.0; Jordan Brown, Leipsic, 6-4, sr., 18.2; Shane Zimmerman, South Webster, 6-2, jr., 23.0; Tyler VanWinkle, New Madison Tri-Village, 5-9, sr., 14.0; Nick Camino, New Matamoras Frontier, 6-1, sr., 20.5; Dylan Woods, Cincinnati Christian, 6-0, jr., 14.2; Cole Beatty, Lowellville, 6-6, sr., 18.0.

Special Mention

Monroe Britton, Ridgedale; Ty Colombo, Tuscarawas Central Catholic; Shane Johnson, Shadyside; Eric Pickering, Jeromesville Hillsdale; Clay O’Dell, Vienna Mathews; Josh Zmuda, Sebring McKinley; Jake Reckard, McDonald; Sam Waldock, North Ridgeville Lake Ridge Academy; Jack Kelsheimer, Willoughby Cornerstone Christian Academy; Brandon McQueen, Willoughby Cornerstone Christian Academy; Dauson Dales, Defiance Ayersville; Connor Lautzenheiser, Convoy Crestview; Chandler Adams, Van Wert Lincolnview; Trevon Turner, Portsmouth Notre Dame; Camron Gordley, Peebles; Joseph Ehman, Crown City South Gallia; Ethan Leist, Beaver Eastern; Jakoby Lane-Havey, Lima Perry.

Honorable Mention

Charles Aden, Harvest Prep; Brandon Baker, Grove City Christian; Landon Conley, Fairfield Christian; Cam Edmondson, Wellington; Dustin Harder, Wellington;

Tony Barber, Steubenville Catholic Central; Michael Fisher, Zanesville Bishop Rosecrans; Jack Ridenour, Caldwell; Mark Mayle, Malvern; Shevin Javersak, Strasburg-Franklin; Brett Bower, Bowerston Conotton Valley; Austin Dick, New Philadelphia Tuscarawas Central Catholic;

Mitch Clark, Dalton; Josh Liberati, Lisbon David Anderson; Jarad Dunn, Mogadore; Robbie Rouse, Sebring McKinley; Justin Bofenkamp, Warren JFK; Tommy Hall, Southington Chalker; Ben Rogers, Hillsdale; Troy Holden, Salineville Southern; Justin Miller, Wellsville;

Dustin Hackney, Elyria Open Door Christian; Tony Massucci, Ashtabula St. John; Kevin Jerzerinac, Cuyahoga Heights; Marc Ayed, North Ridgeville Lake Ridge Academy; Ben Slater, Elyria Open Door Christian; Alexander Heath, Cleveland Heights Lutheran East;

Sam Williamson, Antwerp; Alex Michael, Edgerton; Brayden Wilhelm, Greenwich South Central; Mitchel Stammen, St. Henry; Grant Lescallett, New Riegel; Jared Jakubick, Mansfield St. Peter’s; Owen Adams, North Robinson Colonel Crawford;

Justice Jenkins, Glouster Trimble; Garrett Bartley, Corning Miller; Deijon Bedgood, Belpre; Blaine Scott, Sciotoville Community East; Cameron King, Portsmouth Clay; Tanner Arey, Pebbles; Ethan Putnam, Leesburg Fairfield; Landon Hutchinson, Crown City South Gallia; Jett Facemyer, Reedsville Eastern; Crenson Rogers, Racine Southern; Tanner Perdue, Latham Western;

Brady Wildermuth, Jackson Center; Josh York, Russia; Ryan Boyd, North Lewisburg Triad; Andrew Lyons, South Charleston Southeastern Local; Devan Rinderle, Mississinawa Valley.

Paul Boggs can be reached at 740-446-2342, ext. 2106

South Gallia senior Joseph Ehman, left, releases a three-point attempt during the second half of a December 22, 2015, boys basketball contest against Gallia Academy in Mercerville, Ohio.
http://aimmedianetwork.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/24/2016/03/web1_3.15-SG-Ehman.jpgSouth Gallia senior Joseph Ehman, left, releases a three-point attempt during the second half of a December 22, 2015, boys basketball contest against Gallia Academy in Mercerville, Ohio. Bryan Walters/OVP Sports

By Paul Boggs