Last updated: December 14. 2013 1:12AM - 2912 Views
By - bwalters@civitasmedia.com

Point Pleasant senior Chase Walton (48) makes a jarring hit on Logan running back Brynden 'Worm' Street during an opening round Class AAA playoff game at OVB Field in Point Pleasant, W.Va.
Point Pleasant senior Chase Walton (48) makes a jarring hit on Logan running back Brynden 'Worm' Street during an opening round Class AAA playoff game at OVB Field in Point Pleasant, W.Va.
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

WHEELING, W.Va. — The Point Pleasant football team had five players chosen to the 2013 Class AAA all-state football teams, as voted on by a select panel from the West Virginia Sports Writers Association.

Despite a playoff win, an 11-1 overall record and being only one of two teams to finish the AAA regular season unbeaten, the Big Blacks had zero first-teamers and only one second-team selection to go along with three special mention choice and one honorable mention selection.

Point Pleasant senior Chase Walton — the program’s all-time touchdown scoring leader — was named captain of the second-team defense as a linebacker, where he amassed 80 total tackles, eight passes defended and four tackles for loss on a defense that allowed just 13.6 points per game.

Walton also produced 1,507 total yards of offense and 136 points in his final season with Point, which included 22 touchdowns. Walton leaves PPHS with 44 career TDs and also owns two other school records with 80 catches for 1,307 yards.

Point Pleasant sophomore Cody Mitchell was joined by junior teammate Jon Peterson and Aden Yates on the special mention list. Senior kicker Colin Peal was also an honorable mention choice.

Mitchell finished the year as the Big Blacks’ leading rusher with 1,431 yards and 18 TDs on 191 attempts, an average of 7.4 yards per carry. Mitchell accumulated 2,068 all-purpose yards and accounted for 136 points while also recording 64 tackles, two interceptions and two fumble recoveries as a free safety.

Yates — a two-time all-state honoree — completed 75 percent of his passes this year for 1,242 yards and 14 TDs while also rushing for 162 yards and three scores. Yates also carried an average of 39.3 yards on 19 kicks as a punter.

Peterson was the disruptive force for Point’s defense after recording 73 tackles, seven tackles for loss, five sacks, four fumble recoveries and two interceptions as a defensive end. Peterson also hauled in 14 catches for 218 yards and two scores as a wideout.

Peal finished the season by nailing 57-of-60 extra-point kicks and three field goals for 66 total points. He finishes his PPHS career with a 95-percent accuracy rating.

Running back Chazzy Thomas of Morgantown was named the first-team captain on offense, while linebacker Geremy Paige of Wheeling Park was the defensive captain of the first team. Wide receiver Kevin Forrest of South Charleston was the second-team captain offensively.

First team


QB - Zach Phillips, Wheeling Park, sr.

RB - Kashuan Haley, Capital, jr.

RB - Jalen Jones, Oak Hill, sr.

RB - Chazzy Thomas, Morgantown, sr. (Captain)

OL - Cody Ballengee, Cabell Midland, sr.

OL - Matt Hackathorn, Wheeling Park, sr.

OL - David Smith, George Washington, jr.

OL - Trevor Stacy, Spring Valley, jr.

OL - Stone Wolfley, Morgantown, jr.

WR - Kade Harrison, Ripley, sr.

WR - Kendell Smith, Washington, sr.

Utility - Malique Watkins, Martinsburg, sr.

K - Hunter Colbert, Jefferson, sr.


DL - Nigale Cabell, Huntington, sr.

DL - Tony Richardson, University, sr.

DL - Troy Walker, Martinsburg, sr.

DL - James Walton, Capital, sr.

LB - Trevor Hardesty, John Marshall, sr.

LB - Greg May, Huntington, sr.

LB - Geremy Paige, Wheeling Park, sr. (Captain)

DB - Jack Armstrong, University, sr.

DB - Brandon Moneypenny, Lewis County, jr.

DB - Nick Tubbs, Huntington, sr.

DB - Clark Wilson, Huntington, jr.

Utility - Zach Pate, Hurricane, sr.

P - Kyle Foster, Parkersburg, sr.

Second team


QB - Kentre Grier, South Charleston, so.

RB - Colin Gustines, Washington, sr.

RB - Savion Johnson, Wheeling Park, so.

RB - Deamonte Lindsay, Martinsburg, jr.

OL - Clint Arbaugh, University, sr.

OL - Amanii Brown, Morgantown, sr.

OL - Mitch Fitzgerald, Hurricane, sr.

OL - Alex Locklear, Spring Valley, jr.

OL - Daiveyon Monroe, Martinsberg, sr.

WR - Eric Banks, Wheeling Park, sr.

WR - Kevin Forrest, South Charleston, sr. (Captain)

Utility - Travis Renner, University, sr.

K - Zach Stevens, Huntington, sr.


DL - Jaisson Dyer, Capital, sr.

DL - Tyler Hayes, Cabell Midland, sr.

DL - Chalmer Moffett, Wheeling Park, jr.

DL - Arick Nicks, Huntington, sr.

LB - A.D. Cunningham, South Charleston, jr.

LB - Eli Gates, Hedgesville, sr.

LB - Zach Malone, George Washington, sr.

LB - Chase Walton, Point Pleasant, sr. (Captain)

DB - Alex Anderson, Morgantown, sr.

DB - Marquel Hampton, South Charleston, sr.

DB - Chase Hancock, Woodrow Wilson, sr.

Utility - Jacob Jackson, George Washington, sr.

P - Liam Casey, Wheeling Park, sr.

Special mention

Eric Brown, Martinsburg; Skyler Carlton, Lewis County; Paden Christian, Huntington; Josh Cox, Cabell Midland; Scott Dixon, University ; Shane Ennis, Hampshire; Antonio Gray, Oak Hill; Tate Hash, Washington; Austin Hensley, Hurricane; Logan Horn, Hedgesville; Nick Hunt, Winfield; Cody Jenkins, Martinsburg; Isaiah Kinder, Greenbrier East; Troy Lilly, Woodrow Wilson; Troy Markley, Hedgesville; Greg May, Huntington; Mark Metzgar, Lewis County; Tyler Miller, Martinsburg; Cody Mitchell, Point Pleasant; Josiah Nuse, Preston; Jon Peterson, Point Pleasant; Tyrhee Pratt, Capital; Josh Rein, Logan; Draven Riffe, George Washington; Taj Sho-Johnson, Princeton; Austin Skryzeki, John Marshall; Brynden Street, Logan; Kasey Thomas, Cabell Midland; Chris Turner, Winfield; Aden Yates, Point Pleasant.

Honorable mention

Teran Barnitz, Cabell Midland; Jacob Bean, Hampshire; Zane Bradbury, Washington; Trevor Booth, Parkersburg South; Savion Brown, Capital; Charlie Carter, Oak Hill; Dalton Cline, Greenbrier East; Charles Crawford, Huntington; Seth Cutright, Buckhannon-Upshur; Jeremy Eckels, University ; Brandon Ford, Hurricane; Dan Fox, Parkersburg; Logan Garrison, Capital; Ryan Gatrell, Huntington; Jarrell Green, Oak Hill; Jacob Grigsby, St. Albans; Tyler Hanson, Shady Spring; Preston Hepler, Logan; Shamar Ingram, Huntington; Will Jackson, Riverside; Khance Johnson, South Charleston; Seth Keith, Oak Hill; Clayton Marcum, Logan; Garrett May, Washington; Eric McCave, Wheeling Park; Nic Ossman, Brooke; Colin Peal, Point Pleasant; Zach Postin, Cabell Midland; Jay Richardson, South Charleston; James Richmond, Capital; Isaac Riggleman, Elkins; Will Rockis, Morgantown; Brendan Schwendeman, Parkersburg South; Jack Skidmore, George Washington; Trevor Tucker, Ripley; Brayden Underwood, Nitro; Ruan Venter, Morgantown; Aaron Walker, Brooke; Colby Webb, Spring Valley, Isaac Withrow, Winfield.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Point Pleasant Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com