Last updated: October 21. 2013 7:37PM - 1196 Views
Agnes Hapka ahapka@civitasmedia.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

POINT PLEASANT — Volunteers, substitute teachers, and other new employees were all under discussion at the recent Mason County School Board meeting.

Board president Randy Searls called the meeting to order. Also present were superintendent Suzanne Dickens, vice-president Greg Fowler, and board members Thomas Nunnery, Paul Sayre and Dale Shobe.

The board approved a non-resident request from Putnam County to attend Hannan High School for the 2013-2014 school year, and approved employment for Cheryl Whitt, as an approved driver for the 2013-2014 school year. Her driving record has been checked by the West Virginia Motor Vehicles Division.The board also approved resignation of the following: Tamara Sayre, math teacher at Wahama High School, effective October 22, 2013; Alisha Wallis, yearbook advisor, Wahama High School, effective October 2, 2013.

The board approved the employmemt of the following individuals as substitute teachers for the 2013-2014 school year: Brian Clary; Judith Fields; Nakita Garnes; Jonathan Merritt; Hillary Wroten. County will be the funding source. The board also approved the employment of Charlene Templeton, homebound instructor, central office itinerant, on an as-needed basis, and Stacey Walton, homebound instructor, central office itinerant, on an as-needed basis.

The board also approved the following as volunteers for Mason County elementary schools: Shela Crawford; Cheryl Cremeans; Polly Henry; Lana Mayes; Stacie Pearson; Ladonna Putney; Mark VanHoose; Delores Arnett; Andrew Wood; Breanna Burrough; Tabby Burrough; Nathaniel Butler; Chantel Casto; Connie McCarty; Angel McCoy; Jessica McCoy; Josh Stover; George Carson; Tammy Carson; Cathy Greene; Pamela Oliver; James Reitmire; Jamie Steward; Brooke Andrick; Kary Barton; Beverly Casto; Heather Darst; Ashleigh Diddle; Angela Dorsey; Ann Eddy; Glenn Icenhower; Janet Kincaid; Mary Kincaid; Tom Nunnery; Meggan Randolph; Debra Roark; Sarah Robertson; Rachel Stolzenburg; Amanda Tarbett; Bradley Towe; Lisa Bechtle; Alicia Bentz; Jessica Copen; Melanie Deweese; Dianna Grueser; Shaea Haynie; Mary Kincaid; Cathy Rayburn; Linda Tatterson; Connie Thompson; Ronald Thompson; Beth Foreman; Rex Howard; Wendy Meadows; Marsha Pearson; Virginia Weaver.

The board decided that the Employee of the Year reception will be held at 5 p.m. on November 12 in the Point Pleasant High School commons area.

The next regular business meeting of the school board will be held at 6 p.m., Tuesday, October 22.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Point Pleasant Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com