Last updated: January 27. 2014 8:02PM - 1366 Views
By Beth Sergent bsergent@civitasmedia.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

MASON COUNTY — The last day to file to run for political office in the May Primary was Saturday, with a few more candidates signing up to win local and state races.

The Point Pleasant Register ran a list of candidates in Saturday’s edition based upon filings available late as of Friday afternoon. As of Monday afternoon, the office of Mason County Clerk Diana Cromley reported receiving six filings in the mail - all of which were to be postmarked by Saturday’s deadline date. There were also a few withdrawals and additions affecting the previous list reported for county executive committee candidates. There was also an additional candidate added to the race for county school board.

As of Monday evening, the following local candidates had filed to run for office with the Mason County Clerk’s Office:

Incumbent Rick Handley (D-Point Pleasant), remained the lone candidate from either party who filed for the open seat on the Mason County Commission.

Filing for the three open seats on the Mason County Board of Education were Incumbents Greg Flower of Point Pleasant (District Two), Dale Shobe of Leon (District Two) and Randy Searls of Gallipolis Ferry (District Four). Also filing, Martin Zirkle of Mason (District One), Mickey Whalen of Point Pleasant (District Two), N. Jason Andrick of Letart (District Two) and Jared Billings, Gallipolis Ferry (District Four).

Filing for County Executive Committee, Female, Democrats - Bonnie J. Fruth of Point Pleasant (District Four), Ashley Wood of Point Pleasant (District Five), Mercedes Sayre of Point Pleasant (District Four), Agnes Angela Roush of Mason (District One), Shirley Livingston of Leon (District Three), Samantha Fooce of Point Pleasant (District Six), Marcia Finley of Point Pleasant (District Six), Freeda Mayes of Ashton (District Eight), Mona L. Legg of Leon (District Three). Republicans - Merlie Hart of Leon (District Four), Donna Kay Akers of Point Pleasant (District Six), Sarah Z. Stover of Mason (District One), Brenda L. Adkins of Point Pleasant (District Four).

Filing for County Executive Committee, Male, Democrats - Floyd Sayre of Point Pleasant (District Four), Ernie Compson of Mason (District One), Willie Livingston of Leon (District Three), Kevin Fooce of Point Pleasant (District Six), Tom McNeely of Point Pleasant (District Five), Randall Mayes of Ashton (District Eight), James McCormick, II, of New Haven (District Two), Greg Barker of Leon (District Three), Tim Clendenen of Point Pleasant (District Six). Republicans - Curtis C. McConihay of Point Pleasant (District Four), Troy Wood of Point Pleasant (District Five), C. Keith Sargent of Point Pleasant (District Six), Jim Butler (District Seven).

Filing for the 14th Delegate District Executive Committee, Third Congressional District Executive Committee and Fourth Senatorial District Executive Committee - Mercedes Sayre (D -Point Pleasant) Floyd Sayre (D-Point Pleasant).

Filing for Conservation District Supervisor - Charles T. Lipscomb of Letart.

According to the office of West Virginia Secretary of State Natalie Tennant, as of Monday evening, the following had filed for national and state offices:

U.S. Senate - Larry Butcher (R-Washington); Shelley Moore Capito (R-Charleston); Matthew Dodrill (R-Parkersburg); Natalie Tennant (D-Charleston); David B. Wamsley (D-Williamstown); Dennis Melton, (D-Buckhannon).

U.S. House of Representatives Third Congressional District - Evan Jenkins (R-Huntington); Richard Ojeda, II, (D-Holden); Nick J. Rahall (D-Beckley).

State Senate Fourth Senatorial District - Mike Hall (R-Winfield).

House of Delegates 13th District - Scott Cadle (R-Letart); Jim Dagostine (D-Bancroft); Tim Gibson (R-Poca); Joshua Martin (D-Poca); Josh McGrath (D-Nitro); Nathan “Nate” Westfall (R-Cross Lanes); Michael Ihle (R-Ravenswood); Rosalee Juba-Plumley (D-Poca).

House of Delegates 14th District - Jim Butler (R-Henderson); Johnny Roach (D-Point Pleasant).

Democratic State Executive Committee Female (from Mason County) - Bonnie J. Fruth and Mercedes Sayre, both of Point Pleasant.

Democratic State Executive Committee Male (from Mason County) - James M. Casey and Floyd Sayre, both of Point Pleasant.

It’s important to note more candidate filings could be in the mail and that the ballot has not been finalized. When that happens, the Point Pleasant Register will report the final list of names which will appear for voters in the May Primary.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Point Pleasant Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com