Last updated: January 13. 2014 8:54PM - 1004 Views
By Beth Sergent bsergent@civitasmedia.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

MASON COUNTY — The first day of filing season for political candidates began on Monday with four people filing at the local and county level.

Current Mason County Commission President Rick Handley filed for reelection to retain his seat on the county commission. Handley, a democrat, is currently completing his third term in office - terms for county commission seats are six years. If Handley wins a fourth term it will begin Jan. 1, 2015. Those filing for Handley’s seat must be from District Three. Currently, Commissioner Miles Epling, whose term is up in 2016, is from District One and Commissioner Tracy Doolittle, whose term is up in 2018, is from District Two.

Also filing candidacy papers with the office of Mason County Clerk Diana Cromley on Monday, two current members of the Mason County Board of Education. Incumbents Dale Shobe and Greg Fowler filed for reelection and will appear on May’s ballot. Terms for the board of education are four years and those elected take office on July 1.

There are a total of three seats up for grabs on the school board, including those held by Shobe, Fowler and Randy Searls. No more than two candidates can be elected from each district. Searls is from District Four, Shobe and Fowler both from District Two. Also, Board Members Tom Nunnery and Paul Sayre are from Districts Three and One, respectively - the seats held by Nunnery and Sayre are not up for reelection.

Also filing today, Bonnie J. Fruth for county executive committee. There are eight committee districts in Mason County.

The candidate filing period concludes on Jan. 25. Cromley had said her office is not open on Saturday, Jan. 25 but will accept filing papers postmarked by this date. Cash, cashier’s check or money order is the preferred method of payment for filing fees, Cromley said.

On the state level, the seat currently held by Sen. Mike Hall (R), will be up for grabs. As will delegate seats in the 13th district currently held by Brady Paxton (D) and Scott Cadle (R), and from the 14th district Jim Bulter (R). On the national level, the U.S. Senate seat currently held by Sen. John D. Rockefeller, IV (D), will be up for grabs as will the third congressional seat currently held by Congressman Nick J. Rahall, III, (D).

More on which candidates filed at the state and national level in tomorrow’s Point Pleasant Register.

Primary Election Day is Tuesday, May 13. Primary Early Voting Period is Wednesday, April 30 through Saturday, May 10. General Election Day is Tuesday, Nov. 4. General Election Early Voting Period is Wednesday, Oct. 22 through Saturday, Nov. 1.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Point Pleasant Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com