Locals to compete in BACF games

Staff Report

March 20, 2014

PARKERSBURG, W.Va. — The 13th Annual Battle Against Cystic Fibrosis Basketball Classic will be Saturday, March 29, at Parkersburg South High School. The games will tip-off with the girls contest at 5 p.m., followed by the boys at approximately 7 p.m. The boys skill competitions (slam dunk and 3-point shoot-out) will take place at halftime of the girls game while the girls skills competitions will be halftime of the boys game.

Rosters for this year include players from a vast area around the Ohio, Muskingum and Kanawha Rivers, with the squads consisting of high school seniors from both West Virginia and Ohio.

The Ohio boys roster includes Drew Schneider, Frontier; Josh Fayette, Nelsonville-York; Zach Padden, Cambridge; Clifford Clark, Cambridge; Bryan Duffy, Monroe Central; Cameron Summers, Meadowbrook; Braden Riley, Marietta; Taylor McNickle, Racine Southern; Wyatt Porter, Waterford; Eric Dierkes, River; Alex Owings, Vinton County; Chandler Lang, Fort Frye; Nick Therriault, Belpre; Brennan Czuchran, Buckeye Local.

The Ohio boys captain will be Chandler Lang of Fort Frye and River’s Mark Romick will serve as the coach.

The West Virginia boys roster includes Logan Lawrentz, Parkersburg South; Dylon Rippeto, Parkersburg South; Ashton Hinzman, Doddridge; Jake Martin, Ravenswood; Patrick Goff, Wood County Christian; Levi Hays, Parkersburg; Austin Cunningham, Gilmer County; Payton Sturm, Parkersburg Catholic; Joe Padden, Parkersburg Catholic; Jake Ullman, Parkersburg Catholic; Alex Somerville, Point Pleasant; Wade Martin, Point Pleasant; Evan Potter, Point Pleasant; Colby Brode, St. Marys; Kalob Bell, Wirt County.

The West Virginia boys captain will be Jake Ullman of Parkersburg Catholic and Point Pleasant’s Josh Williams will serve as the coach.

The Ohio girls roster includes Corisa Fickiesen, Frontier; Hannah DeBruin, Athens; Chandler Fulks, Fairland; Bri Dickess, Fairland; Brooke Borich, Fort Frye; Chantel Parsons, Fort Frye; Ashley Frashure, Logan; Erin Swatzel, Reedsville Eastern; Katie Keller, Reedsville Eastern; Madison Ridout, Jackson; Lydia Poe, Jackson; Whitney Wills, Jackson; Sarah Proctor, Warren; Starr Johnson, Marietta.

The Ohio girls captain will be Brooke Borich of Fort Frye and Fairland’s Jon Buchanan will serve as the coach.

Head Coach: Jon Buchanan, Fairland

The West Virginia girls roster includes Kendra Walker, St. Marys; Julie Bishop, Gilmer County; Kelli Jo Harrison, George Washington; Brittany Gould, Sissonville; Sophie Kinard, Tyler Consolidated; Mikaela Britton, St. Marys; Asia Pettite, Huntington St. Joe; Rachel Lee, Huntington St. Joe; Sarah Williams, Ripley; Sierra Riffle, Doddridge; Miriam Smith, Wirt County; Emily Pitkin, Cabell Midland; Sierra Jordan, Cabell Midland.

The West Virginia girls captain will be Julie Bishop of Gilmer County and Gilmer County’s Amy Chapman will serve as coach.