7 locals named to All-TVC Hocking boys team

Bryan Walters

March 20, 2014

The Ohio Valley Publishing area had seven people chosen to the All-TVC Hocking boys basketball, which was determined by coaches based on the final league standings for the 2014 campaign.

Southern — which captured a share of its first-ever TVC Hocking title — joined co-champion Waterford with a league-best four selections after finishing the year with matching 12-4 marks. Both Jeff Caldwell of Southern and Tom Simms of Waterford were also named co-coaches of the year.

Junior Tristen Wolfe was named the most valuable player and was one of three Tornadoes selected to the team, as were seniors Taylor McNickle and Dennis Teaford. Senior Eli Strahler and juniors Cody Paxton and Trystan Crawford were the three all-league selections for the Wildcats.

Federal Hocking placed third overall with a 10-6 league mark and was represented by seniors Delbert Crum and Peyton Seel, while both Belpre and Trimble landed two players apiece after finishing tied for fourth with 9-7 records.

Seniors Nick Therriault and Brennan Ferrell were chosen on behalf of the Golden Eagles, while senior Jacob Koons and junior Micah Couch were selected as the representatives for the Tomcats.

Wahama was sixth overall with an 8-8 league mark and had one selection in senior Hunter Bradley, while South Gallia was represented by junior Brayden Greer after finishing seventh with a 7-9 record.

Miller was eighth overall with a 4-12 league record and was represented by junior Elijah Rader, while Eastern was ninth at 1-15 and had junior Christian Speelman named to the list.