Curfman, Eastman names All-SEOAL

Alex Hawley

February 27, 2014

CENTENARY, Ohio — The Southeastern Ohio Athletic League coaches have released the 2013-14 All-SEOAL basketball teams. The Blue Devils and Blue Angels each earned one first team selection and one honorable mention selection.

Senior guard Reid Eastman was named first team All-SEOAL after averaging 8.1 points, 3.1 assists and 2 rebounds per game this season. Sophomore forward Wes Jarrell was named honorable mentoon after averaging 10.3 points, 6.4 rebounds and 1.8 blocks per game.

Warren senior and West Liberty commit Evan French was named SEOAL player of the year, while Warren head coach Blain Maddox and Portsmouth head coach Eugene Collins were named SEOAL co-coach of the year. WHS and PHS were co-league champions with 7-1 records, while Logan was 4-4, GAHS was 2-6 and Jackson was 0-8.

The Blue Angels were represented by junior guard Micah Curfman, who averaged 12.4 points, 4.6 rebounds, 2.5 steals and 2.3 assists per game this season. GAHS senior Kassie Shriver was named honorable mention, while averaging 7.2 points, 2.5 rebounds, 1.8 assists and 1.2 steals per game this season.

Madison Ridout of Jackson was named SEOAL player of the year, while Ironladies coach Matt Walburn was named SEOAL coach of the year. JHS won the league title with a 8-0 record, followed by Logan and Warren with 5-3 records. GAHS was 2-6 in the league, while Portsmouth finished last with an 0-8 league mark.


Player, school Ht Gr Pos

Reid Eastman, Gallia Acadeny 5-10 12 G

Tyler Neal, Jackson 5-10 12 G

Chance Cox, Logan 6-0 11 G

Kevin Fisher, Logan 6-8 11 F/C

Ky’re Allison*, Portsmouth 6-2 10 G

Isiaha Lisath, Portsmouth 6-0 12 G

Sky Oliver, Portsmouth 6-0 11 G

Kendal Reynolds, Portsmouth 6-2 9 F

Evan French**, Warren 6-4 12 G

Michael Hall*, Warren 6-6 11 F

Reece Patton*, Warren 6-3 12 F

Honorable mention: Wes Jarrell (6-4, 10, F), Gallia Academy; Jordan Helman (6-2, 12, F), Jackson; Nick Kost (5-8, 12, G), Logan; Hunter Gibson (6-4, 11, F), Portsmouth; Andrew Drayer (6-3, 12, F), Warren

Player of the Year: Evan French, Warren

Coaches of the Year: Eugene Collins, Portsmouth; Blane Maddox, Warren

*—indicates previous All-SEOAL team honors. French was Player of the Year in 2012-13; Maddox was Coach of the Year in 2012-13, and Neal was honorable mention in 2012-13.


Player, school Ht Gr Pos

Micah Curfman, Gallia Academy 5-5 11 G

Kerrigan Hoover, Jackson 5-7 12 G

Lydia Poe*, Jackson 6-2 12 C

Madison Ridout***, Jackson 5-9 12 G

Whitney Wills, Jackson 5-5 12 G

Ashley Frasure**, Logan 6-2 12 C

Paige Davis, Logan 5-8 10 G

Peighton Williams*, Portsmouth 5-8 11 G

Victoria Buzzard, Warren 5-9 11 F

Kendra Lynch, Warren 5-5 12 G

Honorable mention: Kassie Shriver (5-3, 12, G), Gallia Academy; Annie Speakman (5-6, 12, G/F), Jackson; Taylor Myers (5-8, 10, G), Logan; Jada Jenkins (5-6, 11, F), Portsmouth; Sarah Proctor (5-6, 12, G), Warren

Player of the Year: Madison Ridout, Jackson

Coach of the Year: Matt Walburn, Jackson

*—indicates previous All-SEOAL team honors. Ridout was Player of the Year in 2012-13 and co-Player of the Year in 2011-12;Walburn was Coach of the Year in 2012-13; Buzzard, Davis and Wills were honorable mention in 2012-13, and Williams and Poe were honorable mention in 2011-12.

Teams are selected via a vote of league coaches. Each team was accorded one automatic honorable mention selection.