Candidates file for national, state offices

By Beth Sergent

January 25, 2014

CHARLESTON — What looks to be an interesting year in state politics is beginning to shape up as candidates for the U.S. Senate, U.S House of Representatives, State Senate and House of Delegates filed for the May Primary.

As of 10 p.m. Friday evening, the following candidates were listed as having filed for office with West Virginia Secretary of State Natalie Tennant:

U.S. Senate - Larry Butcher (R-Washington); Shelley Moore Capito (R-Charleston); Matthew Dodrill (R-Parkersburg); Natalie Tennant (D-Charleston); David B. Wamsley (D-Williamstown).

U.S. House of Representatives Third Congression District - Evan Jenkins (R-Huntington); Richard Ojeda, II, (D-Holden); Nick J. Rahall (D-Beckley).

State Senate Fourth Senatorial District - Mike Hall (R-Winfield).

House of Delegates 13th District - Scott Cadle (R-Letart); Jim Dagostine (D-Bancroft); Tim Gibson (R-Poca); Joshua Martin (D-Poca); Josh McGrath (D-Nitro); Nathan “Nate” Westfall (R-Cross Lanes).

House of Delegates 14th District - Jim Butler (R-Henderson); Johnny Roach (D-Point Pleasant).

Democratic State Executive Committee Female (from Mason County) - Bonnie J. Fruth and Mercedes Sayre, both of Point Pleasant.

Democratic State Executive Committee Male (from Mason County) - James M. Casey and Floyd Sayre, both of Point Pleasant.

The last day to file for office is Saturday, Jan. 25 in West Virginia. The Point Pleasant Register will publish a final list of candidates when it becomes available.