Board approves new substitutes, out-of-state travel

Agnes Hapka

December 14, 2013

POINT PLEASANT — Out-of-state travel, new substitute teachers, and employee resignations were among items under discussion at the recent Mason County School Board meeting.

Board president Randy Searls called the meeting to order. Also present were superintendent Suzanne Dickens, Vice-president Greg Fowler, and board members Thomas Nunnery, Paul Sayre and Dale Shobe.

The board approved volunteers for Beale Elementary, New Haven Elementary, Point Pleasant Jr/Sr High, and Point Pleasant Primary, for the 2013-2014 school year. Beale Elementary volunteers: Sandy Buttrick; Vicki Caudill; Kathorine Mayes; Rodney Mayes; Sara Roach. New Haven volunteers: Dana Barnitz; Michaela Davis; Mark Hickel; Sheila Roush; Allyson Sayre; Clyde Weaver; Elnora Weaver. Point Pleasant Junior High School volunteers: Matilda Harvey; Donald Miller. Point Pleasant High School volunteers: Sandi Calamari; Amy Cicoff; Carla Cossin; Brian Gay; Kara Hesson; Paige Jones; Mary Kincaid; Brett Mahone; Jessica Mahone; Kristen Martin; Amber Oliver; Brittany Rice; Misty Rollins; Penni Rollins; Penni Rollins; Tracy Roush; Cassie Stamper; Heidi Wood; Rodger Wood; Jewell Wray; Edden Young.

The board also approved the resignations of the following individuals: Betty Adkins, ABE Teacher, Mason County Career Center; Amy Kammer, alternative education teacher, central office itinerant, effective December 3, 2013; Patrick Leggett, seventh-grade girls’ basketball coach, Point Pleasant High School, effective December 2, 2013.

The board also approved the transfer of the following employees: Michael Burnett, to custodian at New Haven Elementary; Jimmy Milton, mechanic, to chief mechanic, transportation department. The board approved employment for Frances Blake, varsity cheerleading coach, Hannan High School, for the 2013-14 school year, effective November 25, 2013. County will be the funding source. The board also approved the placement of Jayna Lowery as athletic assistant — pending WVSSAC Certification — at Hannan High School, for the 2013-2014 school year. The board also approved the placement of Rachel Workman, Richard Reymond, and Justin Jarrell as athletic assistants. These are unpaid positions.

A special policy/regular business meeting will be held at 4 p.m. on Thursday, December 19, 2013 at Mason County Career Center. The meeting set for December 24 has been canceled.