GAHS lands four on All-SEOAL team

Alex Hawley

November 12, 2013

GALLIPOLIS, Ohio — The Blue Devils earned four first team selections on this year’s All-Southeastern Ohio Athletic League team, selected by league coaches.

Senior quarterback Wade Jarrell is the only Blue Devil to repeat on the All-SEOAL first team and he is joined by fellow Gallia Academy seniors Logan Allison, Reid Eastman and Owen Moore. Junior Josh Johnson and Sophomore Wes Jarrell each were named honorable mention for Gallia Academy. GAHS finished 5-5 this season with a 1-3 SEOAL record.

League champion Logan was represented by Evan DeLong, Brock Emerson, Nick Kost, Bryce McBride, Austin Scarberry, Isaac Schmeltzer and Reggie Wesselhoeft on the first team, while Charles Paulsen and Gabe Smith each made honorable mention. Logan went 4-0 in the league this season. Logan head coach Billy Burke was named coach of the year, while Chief senior Isaac Schmeltzer was player of the year.

Jackson was second in the league at 3-1 and was represented by Austin Fairchild, Gabe Griffiths, Alan Parana, Hunter Sexton, Reagan Williams and Elijah Woolum on first team. Cole Bachtel and Raymond Potter were both named honorable mention for the Ironmen.

Warren was 1-3 in the league and was represented on first team by Austin Klintworth, Jared Isner, Brandon Pahl and David Ryan. Jake Powell and Jake Scott were honorable mention for the Warriors.

Portsmouth was also 1-3 in the SEOAL and was represented by Sky Oliver and Johnnie Charles on first team. Alex Grashel and Brandon Wedebrook were named honorable mention for the Trojans.

The team was selected in a recent vote of league coaches. Each team received two automatic honorable mention selections.